Unexpected Party, body modifications, Goblin Faces

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
Thorsten the Traveller
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 1766
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 1:44 pm
Location: Tilburg, Netherlands

time for coupe questions, seems you guys have been inactive for too long you must be bored ;-)

1. If a character does not need influence to be controlled, e.g. due to An Unexpected Party, is he still controllable? can he still be a follower?

2. Is there an order for body modifications to apply? as with weapons and prowess modification, items go first?

3. Does Goblin Faces receive 2x bonus from Scimitars, 1x for being Orc and 1x for being Men?

thanks
Stone-age did not end because man ran out of rocks.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Dwarves with a mind of 2 or less in this company do not require influence to be controlled
They are still controlled; they just don't require any influence.

I'm not aware of any prescribed order for body modifications.

Each copy of Scimitars only applies once.
All Orc, Troll, and Men attacks receive +1 prowess.
Goblin-Faces is an Orc and Man attack. It fulfills the criteria for receiving +1 prowess. There is no provision on the card for applying multiple times to a single attack/strike.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

I think that there is analogy between Scimitars of Steel and cards like Dragon Ahunt*.
If a situation is created that fulfill multiple conditions causing the same action stated on a card in play, this action is invoked (declared) only once.
E.g. if at some point a company is moving through multiple regions listed on given Dragon Ahunt card, attack of the Dragon is declared only once.
Next attack of the Dragon (from the same card) will be declared when that (or other) company will be moving again in listed regions (for that company this means moving through listed regions in another M/H phase, or disappearing than appearing Doors of Night in play, that will re-trigger conditions, or changes of company's site path in result of Chance of Being Lost, causing such re-triggering).

*) Credits for Gwaihir from MECCG.net, who found this analogy years ago.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Thorsten the Traveller
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 1766
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 1:44 pm
Location: Tilburg, Netherlands

Yes that does makes good sense, thanks.

About Unexpected Party though, how does one decide which character controls which? If Bifur and Bofur both require no infuence to control, either could control the other, how does one indicate that?
Stone-age did not end because man ran out of rocks.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

What is the concern? Is it that "do not require influence to be controlled" is not the same as "require 0 influence to be controlled"?
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Lidless Eye, Starter Rules, Combat, The Strike Sequence wrote:Clarification: The prowess modifier and maximum for a weapon is applied to a character before any other modifiers are applied. For example, the Lieutenant of Dol Guldur has a base prowess of 7 and a Broad-headed Spear (+2 prowess to a maximum of 8) he starts with a prowess of 8 before any other modifiers are applied.

Similarly, the body modifier and maximum for a shield, armor, or helmet is applied before any other modifiers are applied.
One unclear thing is whether the context in which it is written matters.
Is it applicable only in strike sequence, or generally?
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Simply show them however one normally shows followers. The game rulebook recommends that such cards be placed underneath and offset from the controlling card.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
User avatar
Thorsten the Traveller
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 1766
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 1:44 pm
Location: Tilburg, Netherlands

Well as designers of Dream-cards we often come up with cards that create new situations. A card that allows a character and his followers to face an attack as if they were a separate company, for example.

Yes one could use the same spacial system for indicating followers as one would normally, but if you've ever played a 20 Dwarf Unexpected Party company, you'd know that becomes tricky, the table isn't big enough. Often the 1-2 minders are simply all placed to the side, as "they don't cost influence to control" anyway". But turns out they must still be controlled, so good to know.

@body modification. Thanks for clarifying, though indeed it is not clear :-). Well does the prowess-modification rule with respect to items (i.e. weapons etc) apply outside of strike sequence? Then the "similarly" would imply this also applies to body modifications.
Stone-age did not end because man ran out of rocks.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Thorsten the Traveller wrote:@body modification. Thanks for clarifying, though indeed it is not clear :-). Well does the prowess-modification rule with respect to items (i.e. weapons etc) apply outside of strike sequence? Then the "similarly" would imply this also applies to body modifications.
Similarly both are applicable only in strike sequence, or similarly both are applicable not only in strike sequence.

Nobody noticed context in which the rules exist? Nobody cares?
Maybe.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
dirhaval
Posts: 802
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 5:39 am

Concerning dwarves as followers when no influence is required to be controlled.

The MELE states that general influence controls characters as does direct influence.
For me that means Dwalin can be controlled under general influence costing zero.
I think the issue of knowing the controlling character for 2 or 1 mind dwarves
with An Unexpected Party are for cards such as Exile of Solitude.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

The Witch-king wrote:Unique. Manifestation of The Witch-king of Angmar. Can use spirit-magic and shadow-magic. +3 direct influence in Heralded Lord mode. +1 prowess in Fell Rider mode. As your Ringwraith, up to two Ringwraith followers in his company may be controlled with no influence. You may bring these followers into play during separate organization phases. Home Site: Any site in Imlad Morgul
Underline mine.

In this case, not requiring by character an influence to be controlled does not prevent him to be under control of other character.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

@Dirhaval: Also in the case of influence attempts against a character.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”