Page 1 of 1

Target other Company with Resource during M/H phase.

Posted: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:22 am
by Nellistos
Hi, newbie here, i discovered two starter decks and about ~30 cards that they have to be from metw boosters i had bought years ago, when the game debuted.
Never played it.

Two rules questions.

1. Player has two companies A,B. Company A moves, its M/H phase begins. Can the player play events / resources that target Company B or one of its characters?

Based on the official rulebook it can.
Hazard short-events and permanent-events can be played
only during an opponent’s movement/hazard phase. Resource short-events
and permanent-events can be played at any time during your turn—as limited
by specific card text.
2. Company has a Character with Healing Herbs and faces an attack. First strike is assigned and resolved. Can Healing Herbs be used before assigning the 2nd strike? What cards can be played in general between assigning strikes but before start resolving them?

From what i gathered from rules, Healing Herbs cannot be played during strike resolution, because only resources that directly affect the strike can be played.

Re: Target other Company with Resource during M/H phase.

Posted: Fri Jan 27, 2017 12:30 pm
by Konrad Klar
(1) He can.

(2) With exception of exceed strikes (a strikes that still remain after all eligible characters have been assigned a strike) all strikes of an attack must be assigned before they will be resolved.
Nellistos wrote: First strike is assigned and resolved. Can Healing Herbs be used before assigning the 2nd strike?
so above cannot legally happen.
Nellistos wrote:What cards can be played in general between assigning strikes but before start resolving them?
After all strikes of an attack have been assigned anything may be declared except an actions that cancel the attack, or change a number of strikes.
Nellistos wrote:From what i gathered from rules, Healing Herbs cannot be played during strike resolution, because only resources that directly affect the strike can be played.
Do you mean "cannot be played' (not "cannot be discarded for effect")?
Yes - cannot be played, but may be discarded to untap or to heal a character facing a strike during this character's strike sequence.
Untapping, or healing removes respectively -1, or -2 modifier to his prowess.
However bearer of Healing Herbs cannot discard it to untap, or to heal other character, during bearer's strike sequence. Despite the fact discarding Healing Herbs for effect involves tapping bearer, thus modifying his prowess by -1.
Because:
CRF, Turn Sequence, Combat, Strike Sequence wrote:Annotation 18: When a defending player chooses to resolve a strike against a
particular character, the only actions that may be taken by either player until the strike
dice-roll is made are the following: playing hazard cards that affect the strike, the
attacker may decide to use any or all of his remaining -1 modifications due to strikes
in excess of the company's size, a target untapped character may take a -3
modification so that he will not automatically tap, and the defending character may
play resource cards that affect the strike. An action that has the condition that a target
character tap, but which otherwise has an effect not outlined here, may not be
declared at this point.
This is true even if the recipient of the strike would be the target character tapping and
thus receive -1 to his prowess.
Underline mine.

Re: Target other Company with Resource during M/H phase.

Posted: Fri Jan 27, 2017 1:25 pm
by Nellistos
Do you mean "cannot be played' (not "cannot be discarded for effect")?
Yes - cannot be played, but may be discarded to untap or to heal a character facing a strike during this character's strike sequence.
Thank you very much,yes i meant discarding Healing Herbs.
So, it can be discarded targeting another player because it effectively modifies prowess, which is a valid action when resolving a strike.
All points cleared.

Another one

3. Company's M/H ends, company's origin site is discarded, and its current site is the newly arrived one. The site has an Automatic Attack.

From the rules, to explore a site, and be able to play a Resource that requires tapping it, the player has to face any Automatic Attacks, first.
Clarification: During the site phase, a company may decide not to enter and explore its current site. In this
case, the company does not face the automatic-attack, but it may not take any other actions or play any
cards during the site phase. The company remains at the site and it may decide to enter and explore the site
on a later turn.
However, can you play Resources that do not tap the site, and do not affect the Automatic Attack before facing it?
In other words, in order to perform any other actions during the site phase, ( play a Resource, tap a character ), you first have to face the automatic attack, unless such action is related to, and modifies the faced attack?

If you choose not to face it, you can't act / play / tap anything and must immediately end your Site phase?

Re: Target other Company with Resource during M/H phase.

Posted: Fri Jan 27, 2017 2:55 pm
by Konrad Klar
Nellistos wrote:So, it can be discarded targeting another player because it effectively modifies prowess, which is a valid action when resolving a strike.
During strike sequence Healing Herbs (possessed by other character in company) can be discarded to untap/heal character resolving his strike sequence.

(3)
- a company that did not to enter a site cannot make anything in site phase,
- if a company entered a site its controlling player may play resources that directly affect the attack or would otherwise be playable during the strike sequence. A company may not play any other resources during the site phase until they have faced all automatic-attacks,
- to play an ally, item, faction, or resource card which will normally tap the site a company must resolve all automatic, agent and on-guard creature attacks.

This means that a company that has faced all automatic-attacks, but has yet to face agent and/or on-guard creature attacks, still cannot play an ally, item, faction, or resource card which will normally tap the site but may take other actions.

Re: Target other Company with Resource during M/H phase.

Posted: Fri Jan 27, 2017 2:59 pm
by Nellistos
Thanks.
While most of the time i get what the rules try to convey, the wording does not help.

Re: Target other Company with Resource during M/H phase.

Posted: Fri Jan 27, 2017 8:50 pm
by Bandobras Took
Nellistos wrote:While most of the time i get what the rules try to convey, the wording does not help.
This is another wonderfully accurate summation of the rules. :)

Re: Target other Company with Resource during M/H phase.

Posted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 8:12 pm
by Nellistos
Bandobras Took wrote:This is another wonderfully accurate summation of the rules. :)
The URD is really invaluable. Thank you.
Started typing an End of Turn related question, and did a search in the URD just in case.
BAM it is all there.

Re: Target other Company with Resource during M/H phase.

Posted: Mon Jan 30, 2017 3:52 am
by the JabberwocK
Nellistos wrote: The URD is really invaluable. Thank you.
I agree wholeheartedly. This will be even more true once it (or something similar) is regularly updated and supported by the CoE.