Page 1 of 1
detainment attacks???
Posted: Fri Mar 30, 2007 7:46 am
by Nerdmeetsyou
I don't play much ringwraith... but as I played challenge decks with some friends whom I learned the game... I stumbled on a question...
because I'm not sure about whats said in the rulebook...
When is an attack exactly detainment?
I know about all attacks in dark-hold, darkdomain, and shadowland.
and that all orc troll men and undead in Shadowland...
BUT...
does this also count for automatic attacks???
and does this count also for cards that create some kind of automatic attack?
and creatures that are keyed to a specific site or region???
pleas help me... and tell me which attacks are definitly detainment.
Posted: Fri Mar 30, 2007 8:05 am
by Leon
The rules in the lidless eye state when creatures are detainment.
"Detainment" Attacks
Certain attacks detain targets rather than wound them. When a strike from a detainment attack is successful, an untapped target is tapped instead of being wounded. This represents the target being stopped and questioned. The following types of attacks are detainment attacks:
· Card text will sometimes state that an attack is a detainment attack.
· Any Nazgûl attack against a minion company is a detainment attack.
· Any attack keyed to Dark-domains, Shadow-hold, or Dark-hold is a detainment attack.
· Any Orc, Troll, Undead, or Man attack keyed to Shadow-land is a detainment attack.
The parameters apply if the attack is keyed to the region symbol or site symbol (by type) or if keyed to a region or site by name which happens to be of appropriate type (i.e., has the appropriate symbol).
As far as I know the only attacks that are keyed to a region or site are creatures, so the rules above apply to them. Automatic attacks and other attacks are not detainment unless they or errata say so. An example is the attack by doubled vigilance, which is not detainment:
Doubled Vigilance
hazard
Permanent-event
Playable on a Shadow-hold (or on a Ruins & Lairs or Border-hold if Doors of Night is in play). If the company chooses to enter the site, it must make a roll (draw a #) and subtract its company size. If the result is greater than 6, the company may enter the site as normal. Otherwise, the company must face an attack to be resolved before any automatic-attacks: Orcs - 4 strikes at 9 prowess. Discard when the site card is discarded or returned to its location deck.
Also for example the 2x10 spider attack resulting from Spider of the Morlat is detainment vs minion, but this is an errata. (Before I knew this I completely wiped out a minion opponent that kept moving to and from Dol Guldur with this)
I hope my answer is correct and pretty complete