Page 1 of 1
Parsimony of Seclusion
Posted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 6:45 pm
by Konrad Klar
Parsimony of Seclusion wrote:Return any Dragon manifestation to your hand from your discard pile. Alternatively, return any manifestation of Agburanar to your hand from your discard pile and increase the hazard limit by two. ...all the land was desolate and empty.-Hob
Underline and bold mine.
I think that player who choose alternate effect of the card may increase the hazard limit by two even if he did not return to his hand manifestation of Agburanar for any reason (lack of such manifestation in discard pile, inability of searching through pile). Of course he cannot return to his hand manifestation of any other Dragon.
Comments are welcome.
Re: Parsimony of Seclusion
Posted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 7:46 pm
by the JabberwocK
Hmmm...
It seems an
And/Or would have been appropriate here if what you are saying is the case. However, I'm unaware if ICE used
And/Or on any other cards.
I interpret this card differently, that you
must return Agburanar to increase the hazard limit by 2. This is because this card seems like it was designed to bring Dragon's back, but if you bring Agburanar specifically back, then you get a bonus.

Re: Parsimony of Seclusion
Posted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 9:21 pm
by Konrad Klar
Drowning Seas wrote:Environment. Playable on a company that moved this turn to a site with a Coastal Sea [c] in its site path. Target company loses one item of its choice and its player must randomly discard two cards from his hand. Alternatively, if Doors of Night is in play, target company must immediately return to its site of origin.
Underline and bold mine.
What if target company does not have any item? Or if its controlling player does not have any cards in his hand?
Re: Parsimony of Seclusion
Posted: Thu Dec 28, 2017 4:10 pm
by Bandobras Took
I think you're correct, though I also believe that the intent of the card was to only raise the hazard limit by two if a manifestation of Agburanar is returned.
Re: Parsimony of Seclusion
Posted: Thu Dec 28, 2017 9:17 pm
by Konrad Klar
Bandobras Took wrote: ↑Thu Dec 28, 2017 4:10 pm
I think you're correct, though I also believe that the intent of the card was to only raise the hazard limit by two if a manifestation of Agburanar is returned.
Do you mean that:
a. text of the card is imprecise (is a candidate for errata, in other words), thus using 2nd effect of PoS only to increase HL is exploiting the bad wording (if Agburanar manifestation cannot be returned from discard pile, because it is otherwise mandatory action)?
or
b. such use was not planned but is absolute OK (as probably using PoS for returning a Dragon faction was not planned but is absolute OK)?
Re: Parsimony of Seclusion
Posted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 12:37 am
by Bandobras Took
A. I think ICE meant that you only get the hazard limit increase if Agburanar is returned to your hand, but that is unfortunately not what they actually wrote.
Re: Parsimony of Seclusion
Posted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 4:17 am
by the JabberwocK
Bandobras Took wrote: ↑Fri Dec 29, 2017 12:37 am
A. I think ICE meant that you only get the hazard limit increase if Agburanar is returned to your hand, but that is unfortunately not what they actually wrote.
I agree. I think this card just needs to have a clarification issued. All of the Dragons had their own hazard event printed in The Dragons expansion which gave some kind of bonus for using their card. I think its extremely unlikely ICE intended for this to just be an "increase the hazard limit" card, but rather a specific bonus tailored towards Agburanar.