Allies using Resources

The place to ask all rules questions related to MECCG.
User avatar
rezwits
Posts: 313
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 4:07 pm
Location: Las Vegas
Contact:

Allies using Resources

Post by rezwits » Sat Jan 20, 2018 4:21 am

So as I am to understand.

Allies may use Resource "Skill Cards", as long as the Ally has the required Skill.

I just want to clarify: They may not use any ole Resource willy nilly, unless it has their Skill on the card, i.e. making that card a "Skill Card."

Correct?

Thanks
You probably aren't playing Agents correctly 8) <- need a rule thread for this tho...

User avatar
rezwits
Posts: 313
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 4:07 pm
Location: Las Vegas
Contact:

Re: Allies using Resources

Post by rezwits » Sat Jan 20, 2018 4:26 am

I mean just delete this post if you want :)

It's right in the rules, but I was only reading the URD. :(
You probably aren't playing Agents correctly 8) <- need a rule thread for this tho...

User avatar
the Jabberwock
Council Chairman
Posts: 902
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:46 am

Re: Allies using Resources

Post by the Jabberwock » Sat Jan 20, 2018 6:20 am

Correct.

The resource card has to require a skill ability which the ally possesses in order for them to use it.

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2134
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Allies using Resources

Post by Konrad Klar » Sat Jan 20, 2018 11:24 am

Allies also count as characters for purposes of combat.
Resources that they can use for purposes of combat do not need to be a skill cards, e.g. Dodge.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
rezwits
Posts: 313
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 4:07 pm
Location: Las Vegas
Contact:

Re: Allies using Resources

Post by rezwits » Sat Jan 20, 2018 7:58 pm

Ah, ok, gotcha Konrad.

Does this mean my RW can Freeze the Flesh his Creature of an Older World (after a successful Body Check against it)?

If so, what about Well-preserved, "during combat"?

Thanks!!
You probably aren't playing Agents correctly 8) <- need a rule thread for this tho...

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2679
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: Allies using Resources

Post by Bandobras Took » Sat Jan 20, 2018 9:12 pm

The rule says that allies count as characters for the purposes of combat. It does not say that they count as characters during combat. The distinction is crucial.

Freeze the Flesh targets a character that was eliminated by a body check to bring them back. This has nothing to do with combat.

Likewise, Well-Preserved moves a character from wounded to untapped. This also isn't a purpose of combat.

Generally speaking, the following are purposes of combat:

Cancelling the attack
Assigning Strikes
Facing Strikes
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly. This prompted the backlash erratum that I will link to as soon as I notice it is officially posted. :)

User avatar
rezwits
Posts: 313
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 4:07 pm
Location: Las Vegas
Contact:

Re: Allies using Resources

Post by rezwits » Sun Jan 21, 2018 12:47 am

Bandobras Took wrote:
Sat Jan 20, 2018 9:12 pm
Generally speaking, the following are purposes of combat:

Cancelling the attack
Assigning Strikes
Facing Strikes
ah ok, good to know,
what about prowess +/-1 cards
tapping to re-enforce prowess +1
i.e. any body or prowess changes?

Thanks
You probably aren't playing Agents correctly 8) <- need a rule thread for this tho...

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2134
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Allies using Resources

Post by Konrad Klar » Sun Jan 21, 2018 1:01 am

CRF, Turn Sequence, Combat, Strike Sequence wrote:Annotation 18: When a defending player chooses to resolve a strike against a
particular character, the only actions that may be taken by either player until the strike
dice-roll is made are the following: playing hazard cards that affect the strike, the
attacker may decide to use any or all of his remaining -1 modifications due to strikes
in excess of the company's size, a target untapped character may take a -3
modification so that he will not automatically tap, and the defending character may
play resource cards that affect the strike. An action that has the condition that a target
character tap, but which otherwise has an effect not outlined here, may not be
declared at this point.
This is true even if the recipient of the strike would be the target character tapping and
thus receive -1 to his prowess
.
Underline mine.

Underlined text indicates that affecting wounded/tapped/untapped state generally counts as a valid action in strike sequence, so Well-Preserved on ally facing strike would be OK.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
rezwits
Posts: 313
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 4:07 pm
Location: Las Vegas
Contact:

Re: Allies using Resources

Post by rezwits » Sun Jan 21, 2018 2:33 am

Konrad Klar wrote:
Sun Jan 21, 2018 1:01 am
Underlined text indicates that affecting wounded/tapped/untapped state generally counts as a valid action in strike sequence, so Well-Preserved on ally facing strike would be OK.
Ha, nuts.

What about tapping an Ally for a Corruption check, can they give a +1? I have been playing lately they can...

I don't think they can, but I just been doing it in my solo games :P
You probably aren't playing Agents correctly 8) <- need a rule thread for this tho...

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2134
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Allies using Resources

Post by Konrad Klar » Sun Jan 21, 2018 11:55 am

If there is When I Know Anything on the ally, then the ally can tap to give +3 to a corruption check...

BTW. I do not think that this is technically a tapping in support of cc. Timing of the action is rather like timing of New Friendship. Both resolve at its appropriate point of chain of effects. Tapping in support of cc resolves, when the cc resolves.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
Theo
Posts: 223
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Re: Allies using Resources

Post by Theo » Mon Jan 22, 2018 5:01 am

But in general allies can't tap to give +1 to a corruption check. Corruption checks are not a purpose of combat (even when they are triggered from hazard creature's combat effects, e.g. corpse-candle... the plus side is that the ally is also not forced to make a corruption check).
It is not our part here to take thought only for a season, or for a few lives of Men, or for a passing age of the world.

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2134
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Allies using Resources

Post by Konrad Klar » Mon Jan 22, 2018 3:51 pm

Theo wrote:
Mon Jan 22, 2018 5:01 am
But in general allies can't tap to give +1 to a corruption check. Corruption checks are not a purpose of combat (even when they are triggered from hazard creature's combat effects, e.g. corpse-candle... the plus side is that the ally is also not forced to make a corruption check).
Right.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
rezwits
Posts: 313
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 4:07 pm
Location: Las Vegas
Contact:

Re: Allies using Resources

Post by rezwits » Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:30 pm

Konrad Klar wrote:
Sun Jan 21, 2018 11:55 am
If there is When I Know Anything on the ally, then the ally can tap to give +3 to a corruption check...

BTW. I do not think that this is technically a tapping in support of cc. Timing of the action is rather like timing of New Friendship. Both resolve at its appropriate point of chain of effects. Tapping in support of cc resolves, when the cc resolves.
Are you actually able to use When I Know Anything, due to this rule [CRF]:

Skill specific cards can affect allies as long as they are not permanent-events that are “playable on a character” because allies are only considered characters during combat [CoE 3].

Just wondering?
You probably aren't playing Agents correctly 8) <- need a rule thread for this tho...

User avatar
rezwits
Posts: 313
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 4:07 pm
Location: Las Vegas
Contact:

Re: Allies (When I Know...)

Post by rezwits » Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:30 pm

Konrad Klar wrote:
Sun Jan 21, 2018 11:55 am
If there is When I Know Anything on the ally, then the ally can tap to give +3 to a corruption check...

BTW. I do not think that this is technically a tapping in support of cc. Timing of the action is rather like timing of New Friendship. Both resolve at its appropriate point of chain of effects. Tapping in support of cc resolves, when the cc resolves.
Are you actually able to use When I Know Anything, due to this rule [CRF]:

Skill specific cards can affect allies as long as they are not permanent-events that are “playable on a character” because allies are only considered characters during combat [CoE 3].

Just wondering?
You probably aren't playing Agents correctly 8) <- need a rule thread for this tho...

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2134
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Allies using Resources

Post by Konrad Klar » Tue Jan 23, 2018 11:02 pm

When I Know Anything even does not say about "sage character", it says just about "sage".
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”