Riddling Talk

The place to ask all rules questions related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
kober
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Ottawa, ON

Riddling Talk

Post by kober » Wed Apr 04, 2018 11:31 am

Riddling Talk wrote:[...] Playable on a character whose company is facing an attack of the type listed below. Character makes a roll [...] then name a card and opponent must reveal his hand. If the named card is in opponent’s hand, the creatureʹs card is discarded (all of its attacks are cancelled) [...]
This might be just reading between the lines, but could Riddling Talk be played on an automatic-attack? There wouldn't be a "creature's card" to discard, if yes.

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Riddling Talk

Post by Konrad Klar » Wed Apr 04, 2018 2:28 pm

I think that only declared action caused by Riddling Talk is a dice roll.
What will happen (or will not happen) later depends on result of the roll, therefore any objects manipulated by eventual later actions are not targets. Creature card is not target, its attacks are not targets.

So answer is: yes, Riddling Talk may be played on character facing an automatic-attack.


I can repeat my opinion expressed in other threads.
It is very visible at example of A Lie in Your Eyes.
A Lie in Your Eyes wrote:Playable on an untapped non-Ringwraith, non-Wizard character. Your opponent may either: tap the character, tap an ally the character controls, or choose for you to make a roll (draw a #). If the result is greater than the character's mind plus 6, the character is discarded (along with all cards he controls). 'That won't do... What did you see, and what did you say?'-LotRIII
At declaration it is not know what an opponent will choose: tapping target character, tapping an ally the character controls (if available), or making a dice roll. Result of the roll in not known too.
Therefore it cannot be said that tapping the character, tapping an ally, dice roll, or discarding the character are declared actions.
And because target of an action must be specified at declaration of the action, the character is not target of action "tap", nor action "discard", an ally is not target of action "tap". Character is still target of A Lie in Your Eyes, just because the card is played on it, but not because any action, potentially created by A Lie in Your Eyes may operate on it. Only declared action of A Lie in Your Eyes is choice.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Riddling Talk

Post by Konrad Klar » Thu Apr 05, 2018 12:07 pm

Some (disappointing) addition.
While I'm maintaining all I wrote in my previous post I must add that Riddling Talk is not able to cancel an automatic-attack.
"the creatureʹs card is discarded (all of its attacks are cancelled)" implies that attacks of creature may be potentially canceled (but not other attacks).
If the text would be instead "the attack is canceled and the creatureʹs card is discarded (all of its [remaining] attacks are cancelled)" then the automatic-attack could be canceled.

So only potential benefit of playing the card on character facing an automatic-attack is forcing an opponent to reveal his hand.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
kober
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Ottawa, ON

Re: Riddling Talk

Post by kober » Fri Apr 06, 2018 12:27 am

Okay, that makes sense. Thank you, Konrad!

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”