forced march and ringwraith movement

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
thorondor
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 736
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: salzburg, austria
Contact:

we had a debate about this yesterday:
ringwraiths are moving with starter movement only. however, does Forced March overrule this?

Forced March - Short Event
Playable at the end of the movement/hazard phase on a company that moved to a Darkhaven [V]. The company may move to an additional site this turn. Another site card may be played and another movement/hazard phase immediately follows for that company.


i would say yes, since cardtext overrules rgular rules.
also there are analog cases like lucky searching for a hoard item at a normal site.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Nowhere is written that this additional site may be choosen outside general rules.

And if to comes to Lucky Search - this does not allow to play item that character cannot bear (e.g. Wizard Staff by non-Wizard, Thong of Fire by character with prowess less than 6).
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Ringbearer
Ex Council Member
Posts: 474
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 3:39 pm

Forced March on a RW without mode card lets him move again... to another Darkhaven. It doesnt say explicit that a RW may override movement rules.

Lucky Search (as noted in the CRF) states the item is never played, but that a scout merely takes control of it. That is why it overrides hoard rules.
"I used to roll the dice, feel the fear in my enemies eyes."
- Coldplay, Viva la Vida.

Gaming is life, the rest is just dice rolls.
- John Kovalic, Dork Tower
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Strictly speaking, item is not played at site.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
thorondor
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 736
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: salzburg, austria
Contact:

Ringbearer wrote:Forced March on a RW without mode card lets him move again... to another Darkhaven. It doesnt say explicit that a RW may override movement rules.
of course the ringwraith is in a mode. i forgot to mention this.

Lucky Search (as noted in the CRF) states the item is never played, but that a scout merely takes control of it. That is why it overrides hoard rules.
ok, that explains things.

thakns!
Jambo
Posts: 888
Joined: Fri May 19, 2006 3:01 pm

If in mode a RW can move to another site (darkhaven or non-darkhaven), but as far as I'm aware RWs must still abide by the starter movement restriction. Therefore, no Under-deeps and no region movement, and I don't think FM overrides this.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Ringwraith is not restricted to starter movement. Ringwraith cannot use region movement.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Ringbearer
Ex Council Member
Posts: 474
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 3:39 pm

thorondor wrote:of course the ringwraith is in a mode. i forgot to mention this.

Minor detail ;)

Forced March allows the RW to move to another site. If in a mode, it allows the wraith to move according to the mode card.

Marks Akhorakill deck uses much of this, allowing Akhorahil to move swiftly trough several darkhavens and then to the site thats needed to Malady and CVCC the stuff away. Its also a trick to mvoe from non-DH to non-DH in one turn and thus prevent the mode card from vanishing.
"I used to roll the dice, feel the fear in my enemies eyes."
- Coldplay, Viva la Vida.

Gaming is life, the rest is just dice rolls.
- John Kovalic, Dork Tower
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”