Use of documents during official tournaments

The place to ask all rules questions related to MECCG.
Post Reply
Darksatin
Posts: 453
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 6:14 pm
Location: Chalon sur Saône, France

Use of documents during official tournaments

Post by Darksatin » Thu Jun 28, 2018 12:24 pm

I have re-read the Council of Lorien Tournament policy, but I have found nothing about the use of documents by the players during an official tournament.
Obviously, a map with the regions is authorized, but what about the following documents :
- deck list
- play tips about the deck
- a map with all playable resources at sites
- rules books
- a workbook with all the pictures of the cards

User avatar
Thorsten the Traveller
Council Member
Posts: 1615
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 1:44 pm
Location: Tilburg, Netherlands

Re: Use of documents during official tournaments

Post by Thorsten the Traveller » Thu Jun 28, 2018 12:46 pm

a copy of Sun Tzu's The Art of War, perhaps? :-)

Interesting question. Personally I see no problem with the items on your list, except for 1: if you start consulting a library while playing, an 80 (or 90) minute tournament game will only contain 2 turns.

I don't think that knowing all the rules and cards by heart is a necessary skill required to play meccg (competetively), in fact I don't know anybody that does. But having adequate knowledge is certainly benificial to enjoyment of the game.
Stone-age did not end because man ran out of rocks.

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2681
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: Use of documents during official tournaments

Post by Bandobras Took » Thu Jun 28, 2018 2:26 pm

Thorsten brings up the largest issue: the time it takes to consult references.

Like any other game, the fun grinds to a halt when a player doesn't keep the game moving.
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly. This prompted the backlash erratum that I will link to as soon as I notice it is officially posted. :)

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”