Poison of his Voice

The place to ask all rules questions related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2070
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Poison of his Voice

Post by Konrad Klar » Fri Aug 03, 2018 1:44 pm

Poison of his Voice wrote:Magic. Spirit-magic. Playable on a hazard permanent-event on a character in a spirit-magic-using character's company. Discard target hazard. Alternatively, playable on a spirit-magic-using Fallen-wizard. -6 to his stage points (to a minimum of 3) for the rest of the turn. Unless the spirit-magic-using character is a Ringwraith, he makes a corruption check modified by -3.
Is "-6 to his stage points (to a minimum of 3) for the rest of the turn. " applied once and later changes of amount of stage points are added/subtracted to/from resulting value,
or
"-6 to his stage points (to a minimum of 3)" by the rest of turn is applied to an amount of stage points and the result is recalculated each time when the value changes?

Example of 1st variant:
Player has 4 SP. After playing Poison of his Voice he has 3 SP. If in the same turn he would play a card giving him 2 SP, he would have 5 SP.

Example of 2nd variant:
Player has 4 SP. After playing Poison of his Voice he has 3 SP. If in the same turn he would play a card giving him 2 SP, he would have 3 SP ["-6 to his stage points (to a minimum of 3)" is applied to the amount of SP before Poison of his Voice's effect and recalculated].
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2654
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: Poison of his Voice

Post by Bandobras Took » Fri Aug 03, 2018 3:05 pm

It is the second option. There is -6 to his stage points for the rest of the turn. That applies regardless of whether his stage point total shifts. Otherwise, it would act as thought it set the stage point total to a certain amount, and cards which add stage points would have no effect at all that turn.
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly. This prompted the backlash erratum that I will link to as soon as I notice it is officially posted. :)

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2070
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Poison of his Voice

Post by Konrad Klar » Sun Aug 05, 2018 9:51 am

Bandobras Took wrote:
Fri Aug 03, 2018 3:05 pm
Otherwise, it would act as thought it set the stage point total to a certain amount, and cards which add stage points would have no effect at all that turn.
So, in your opinion, the "Otherwise" is not the 1st variant?
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2654
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: Poison of his Voice

Post by Bandobras Took » Sun Aug 05, 2018 12:20 pm

It is not. The only way adding two stage points could bring his total to 5 is if the -6 somehow set the total to 3, but if it did that, then adding 2 could do nothing.

There is a rule that the bonus for weapons must be calculated with its maximum first when determining prowess. I am unaware of any similar rule for stage points.
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly. This prompted the backlash erratum that I will link to as soon as I notice it is officially posted. :)

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”