Webs of Fear and Treachery on guard

The place to ask all rules questions related to MECCG.
Post Reply
Smaug
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 10:30 am
Location: Germany

Webs of Fear and Treachery on guard

Post by Smaug »

Hi,

I have some questions regarding Webs of Fear and Treachery:

1. Can I put it on guard and reveal it in response to an announced influence attempt?
2. Is the ruling still, that it sets all incl. negative modifications (except free GI and DI) to zero (e.g. foolish words) except the ones that are on the character card of the influencing character (so e.g. blazon has no effect against factions?!)?

Cheers

Heiner

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2995
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: Webs of Fear and Treachery on guard

Post by Bandobras Took »

Except for unused general influence and unused normal direct influence (including influence modifications given in a characterÕs card text), all modifications to each influence attempt are reduced to zero.
CRF, Site Phase, On-Guard wrote:You may reveal a card in response to an influence attempt against a faction even if the on-guard card only has an effect if the attempt is successful. You may also reveal a card in response to such an attempt that affects the actual influence attempt.
2. That's not a ruling as such; it's the card text. All modifications are reduced to zero except for unused general influence and unused normal direct influence. This includes modifications from hazards, modifications for influencing across alignments, and the modification of a dice roll made by your opponent.
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly. This prompted the backlash erratum that I will link to as soon as I notice it is officially posted. :)

User avatar
the JabberwocK
Council Chairman
Posts: 1156
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:46 am

Re: Webs of Fear and Treachery on guard

Post by the JabberwocK »

I have moved this topic from the Rules & Errata forum to the Rules Questions forum since it does not seem to be a relevant Rules & Errata discussion topic.

User avatar
Mordakai
Posts: 257
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:38 am

Re: Webs of Fear and Treachery on guard

Post by Mordakai »

Sorry for resurrecting this post, but I have some questions regarding the use of this card:

Except for unused general influence and unused normal direct influence (including influence modifications given in a character's card text), all modifications to each influence attempt are reduced to zero

OK, forget about influencing opponent's thinguies, just to influence your own factions:

a) Blazon is cancelled? (it increases unused normal direct influence or not?)
b) Does it cancel the +/- of minion factions writen in the cards (If you have this guys, then this other guys are +2 to the roll, you know)
c) I understand it cancells Foolish Words, Shut yer mouth and similars, right?

Thanks
C'mon, not the Elves of Lindon AGAIN...

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2995
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: Webs of Fear and Treachery on guard

Post by Bandobras Took »

1) It does not increase normal DI. That's as written on the character card, excluding all other cards effects.

2) Yes, it does cancel that.

3) It cancels Foolish Words. Shut Yer Mouth is arguable, as it modified a character's DI, and Webs focuses on unused normal DI.
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly. This prompted the backlash erratum that I will link to as soon as I notice it is officially posted. :)

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”