Glove of Radagast

The place to ask all rules questions related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
the Jabberwock
Council Chairman
Posts: 894
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:46 am

Glove of Radagast

Post by the Jabberwock » Fri Oct 12, 2018 8:57 pm

In CoE Digest 105 the following is stated:
Does the text of the Glove override normal playability requirements?
Basically can Radagast play an ally at any site, regardless of the sites
status (tapped or untapped) or does the site need to be untapped?

*** Since, based on the text of Glove of Radagast, the ally must be
played, other playability requirements still apply. Therefore, the site
must be untapped.
Often, if a card is allowed to be brought into play
without actually being "played", the term "placed" is used.
(bold mine)

All of the hero and minion non-unique 1 mind allies that I am aware of are playable at both tapped and untapped sites.

So does the untapped site allowance not transfer over using the Glove of Radagast to a site which the ally would normally not be playable at? (e.g. Noble Hound using the Glove could be played at a tapped Bree but not at a tapped Barrow-Downs. Is this correct?

Separately, the phrase "a copy of which he does not already control" only applies if Radagast himself currently controls the same titled ally. It is perfectly okay to have a Noble Hound in his company and play a second using the Glove, so long as the one already in play isn't under Radagast himself. Correct?

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2654
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: Glove of Radagast

Post by Bandobras Took » Fri Oct 12, 2018 10:37 pm

Any non-unique ally with 1 mind (a copy of which he does not already control) is considered playable with Radagast at his site. This ally may be taken from your discard pile or hand.
Glove adds an alternate playability to an ally. You may play an ally using Glove or the ally's playability, but you may not combine the two.
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly. This prompted the backlash erratum that I will link to as soon as I notice it is officially posted. :)

User avatar
Theo
Posts: 207
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Re: Glove of Radagast

Post by Theo » Sat Oct 13, 2018 4:37 am

the Jabberwock wrote:
Fri Oct 12, 2018 8:57 pm
Separately, the phrase "a copy of which he does not already control" only applies if Radagast himself currently controls the same titled ally. It is perfectly okay to have a Noble Hound in his company and play a second using the Glove, so long as the one already in play isn't under Radagast himself. Correct?
Correct.
It is not our part here to take thought only for a season, or for a few lives of Men, or for a passing age of the world.

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2070
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Glove of Radagast

Post by Konrad Klar » Sat Oct 13, 2018 7:21 am

So if Radagast's company is at site, any ally with 1 mind (not already controlled by Radagast) is considered playable there. If other company moves to the site, and such ally is placed with Come at Need, the ally will attack the company (if Come at Need has been played by opponent, of course).
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”