Page 1 of 1

Untap Gandi - vs - tap - Out of Practice

Posted: Sun Oct 14, 2018 7:41 pm
by Vastor Peredhil
to tap or not to tap that is the question - in case of a non-moving Gandi at the end of org phase
"Gandalf" " text="Unique. Can use spirit-magic. May untap at the end of your organization phase. Your characters and hero allies are each worth full marshalling points. Gandalf may tap to "test" a ring in his company."
"Out of Practice" text="Playable on a non-Hobbit character with two or more skills. Target character must attempt to move to a different site each turn or tap at the end of his organization phase. Once per turn during his organization phase, another character in the company may tap to attempt to remove this card. Make a roll: if the result is greater than 6, discard this card. Cannot be duplicated on a given character.">
lets see how this plays out?!

yours Nicolai

btw this happened in a game right now on cardnum: http://68.104.92.152:1042/

so check that out

Re: Untap Gandi - vs - tap - Out of Practice

Posted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 1:02 am
by Theo
Other than multiple in-play effects at the start of the movement/hazard phase, the resource player generally gets to choose the order of resolution.
CRF wrote:Annotation 10: If more than one action is required to be the first action declared in a chain of effects, the player whose turn it is chooses the order in which they are declared. No other actions may be declared in this follow-up chain until the multiple required actions have been declared.

Re: Untap Gandi - vs - tap - Out of Practice

Posted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 3:41 am
by Bandobras Took
I'm not sure those actions are declared as part of the same chain of effects. Bridge may be played at the end of the movement/hazard phase and won't be part of the same chain of effects as the CCs from Lure of Nature.

The question here is who determines order. Here is ICE's rule for End-of-Turn effects:
End-of-turn effects are triggered by the ending of the End-of-Turn phase. Once both players are done with all actions in the End-of-Turn phase, all End-of-Turn effects are declared and resolved in the order chosen by the current player. No further actions may be declared that turn.
My hunch is that End-of-Phase effects would follow the same guideline: order chosen by current player.

Re: Untap Gandi - vs - tap - Out of Practice

Posted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 7:45 am
by Konrad Klar
No one use a new toys (viewtopic.php?f=103&t=3524) ?

My understanding of Out of Practice is that a player chooses in organization phase (but not at end of organization phase) whether target character will move or not. If he will choose that target character will not move, then at the end of organization phase an action "tap" will be triggered.

According to "CoE Issued Rules Clarification #24 BEGINNING / END OF PHASE & TURN"
the player may then declare "untap" action, or anything that may be declared at the end of organization phase.
He may do it in response to "tap" from Out of Practice (ineffective), or in new chain of effects.