Page 1 of 1

Discarding - on guard card - handing up - end of turn

Posted: Fri May 18, 2007 12:51 pm
by melkor_morgoth75
Please ... let me know if i'm right or wrong here.

Here is the situation.

My hand = 8. I have 8 cards and i put 1 on guard. And of M&HP i hand up and draw 1 card.
At the end of the turn i can discard 1 card and then hand up again. Now the question: WHEN does the on guard card (assuming it is a bluff) come back to my hand?
Actually i could FIRST discard one card THEN Hand up and then got my on guard back (so i discard it 'cause i have 9 cards) ... OR do i take back the on guard card BEFORE handing up? Doing so ... i cannot discard 1 card (to take another one) 'cause i discard the 9th card ...

I hope i was clear enough (sorry ... may be my english here has been not so good :wink: )

mm75

Posted: Fri May 18, 2007 3:20 pm
by Ringbearer
The on-guard comes back to the hand BEFORE discard/draw.

Posted: Fri May 18, 2007 4:11 pm
by Leon
So if you have played on guard

1 end of turn -> 8 cards in hand
2 get onguards back -> 9 or more cards in hand
3 discard one card if you want -> 8 or more cards in hand
4 go back to handsize -> 8 cards in hand

I know listing step 3 does not make much sense since 4 is discarding again, but just to be clear. Actually it would not even matter if 2 or 3 comes first.

Posted: Mon May 21, 2007 8:45 am
by melkor_morgoth75
So get me straight ...

i have 8 cards, i take the on-guard card(s) (let's say one). So i have nine.

NOW i CAN discard 1 card (as per rules) so i discard 1 card and get 8 cards.

Then i go back to handsize at the end, i have 8 cards so i don't draw neither discard cards.

Is that the correct interpretation?

mm75

Posted: Mon May 21, 2007 9:23 am
by Leon
That is correct I believe.

The mistake I have seen people make is retrieving on guards, going to handsize, discarding a card and going to handsize again.

Posted: Mon May 21, 2007 10:12 am
by melkor_morgoth75
Leon wrote:That is correct I believe.

The mistake I have seen people make is retrieving on guards, going to handsize, discarding a card and going to handsize again.
That's exactly what i see sometimes here :wink: But it's wrong ...

mm75