an unexpected outpost vs uvatha

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
coro
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 3:32 pm
Location: barcelona - the shire

I've been told that i can recycle the same "an unexpected outpost" that I've played but i can not do the same thing with "uvatha the horseman". Can anybody explain me why?


Uvatha the horseman
Unique. Nazgûl (9th). May be played as a hazard creature (with one strike) or as a permanent event. As a creature, may also be played keyed to Harondor, Horse Plains, Gorgoroth, and Khand; and may also be played at sites in these regions. If played as a permanent-event, it will remain in play until tapped during the opponent's movement/hazard phase (tapping counts against the hazard limit). When tapped, Ûvatha the Horseman becomes a short-event and you may bring one hazard creature from your discard pile to your hand.
An unexpectet outpost
Bring one hazard from your sideboard or discard pile into you play deck and shuffle (up to two if Doors of Night is in play). "...in the high regions the West Wind still blew, but down on the stones behind the fences of the Black Land the air seemed almost dead, chill and yet stifling."-LotRVI
Leon
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 12:18 pm

What do you mean with recycle here? You can use both cards to retrieve other cards from the discard pile.
jaded
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 8:47 am
Location: Poland

CRF wrote: · Short-events are discarded when resolved in a chain of effects, not when declared.
That's why I think you cannot use Uvatha or unexpected outpost for self-recycling.
jhunholz
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 206
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 7:24 pm

I don't think Unexpected Outpost can target itself, since it's not in the discard pile yet. If you have a different unexpected outpost in the discard pile, you can target that one though. Since Uvatha is unique, there obviously won't be another Uvatha in the discard pile to target.
User avatar
Manuel
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 543
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 11:31 am

You can't recycle the same outpost you have played, in the same fashion you can't recycle the same smoke rings you just play, and of course, you can't do it with Uvatha. The reason is that sentence from the CRF Jaded has put in here.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”