Mind alteration during the character draft
Posted: Fri Aug 09, 2019 4:44 pm
I had believed that no mind-adjustments take place during the draft. But in Digest 35 Ichabod states that you will have 15 mind left in the draft after playing a 6 mind character with Thrall. However, the same is not true for mind-altering rings in Digest 47, these don't apply during the draft because the minor items are played (at step 4) after the draft (step 3) (Digest 47).
There is also Digest 52 which says Thrall/Summons does not change the mind in the draft. And then Digest 85 says that you can actually bring in a 7 mind agent if you play Thrall and Open to the Summons.
It seems like 52 overrules 35. I haven't seen any further updates to this. As far as I know, people play the draft such that the total can never be above 20 mind played in a starting company.
There is also Digest 52 which says Thrall/Summons does not change the mind in the draft. And then Digest 85 says that you can actually bring in a 7 mind agent if you play Thrall and Open to the Summons.
It seems like 52 overrules 35. I haven't seen any further updates to this. As far as I know, people play the draft such that the total can never be above 20 mind played in a starting company.
Ichabod Rules Digest 35 wrote:> 5) I play 6 mind character with Thrall of The Voice. How
> many points do i have left in character draft? 14 or 15?
15.
Ichabod - Rules Digest 47 wrote:>2: Can you start a Character with Thrall of his Voice and a mind ring or
two to start a character of 7 or 8 mind?
No. Minor items come into play after you reveal the character, so they
can't affect his mind for purposes of playing him.
...
>2: Can you start a Character with Thrall of his Voice and a mind ring or
two to start a character of 7 or 8 mind?
No. Minor items come into play after you reveal the
Ichabod Digest 52 wrote:>2) I thought I saw some mention of this recently, but I couldn't find it
>when I looked back. Does *Thrall of the Voice* and/or *Opens to Summons*
>reduce the target character's mind by one for purposes of the 20 mind AT
>START maximum? I know that the mind rings DO NOT do this.
No. Your starting company can only have 20 points of unmodified mind.
Ichabod Digest 85 wrote:From: "Michael Kaszubski" <mik...@konto.infocentrum.com>
>Does it mean you can play both Open to the Summons and Thrall of the Voice
>to put a 7-mind character (like Anarin) into play?
It means you can put a 7 mind *agent* into play.