miguel wrote: ↑Thu May 21, 2020 8:43 am
Back on the actual topic, does anyone else have thoughts about the possibility of a nested chain when returning to the site of origin? Konrad? Theo?
My impression was that ICE was strongly against the concept of nested chains in general, and the only place I've seen ICE use nested chains is with regards to combat. I don't think CoE rulings have changed that precedent up to this point, though there are a couple ARV proposals that use nested chains.
is that the phrase "the movement/hazard phase immediately
ends" when a company is returned to origin is meant to interrupt and fizzle *any* remaining cards in a resolving chain of effect. Without nested chains I don't see how there could be another alternative to fizzling an ongoing chain, since last I knew ICE ruled that, e.g., each discarded card is a separate action, and in order to know when to stop discarding each would have to individually resolve before the next is declared.
Beyond CoE #63, the only occurrence from ICE NetReps I've seen that seems like it might speak to "immediately end" precluding any (at least actively) declared end of phase effects is too muddied to do more than speculate as to its possible intent: (It seems to me that both the question and answer got Iron-road mixed up with another card.)
ICE Rules Digest 582 wrote:>1. If a company doesn't "successfully" move to a Darkhaven (example: I discard Baduila at the new site, Carn Dum, and force him to return to his site of origin, Dol Guldur), can he play Iron-road at Dol-Guldur to attempt to move again to Carn Dum?
If a company returns to it's site of origin, it's movement/hazard phase immediately ends. There is no opportunity to play Iron Road
But I've seen no examples that suggest active or passive effects can occur.
It is not our part here to take thought only for a season, or for a few lives of Men, or for a passing age of the world.
One [online community] with hammer and chisel might mar more than they make... Cautious skill!