Interaction of Fog and Morgul Night
Posted: Mon Nov 25, 2019 3:31 pm
My apologies if this has been asked somewhere else. I gave a cursory search of the site before asking, but didn't find anything, but that was admittedly a cursory search.
Anyway, my brother and I went back to our parents house to visit for Thanksgiving and help get things ready the weekend before everyone turns up. While cleaning up the attic we found an old hoard of cards for the game and that brought back a wave of nostalgia, so we tried to play again for what must be the first time in 15 years. So neither of us were that great with the rules after reading through the book again.
Anyway, onto what happened. My brother had played Doors of night a few turns back, and it had hung around. During the Long Event phase, I play fog to treat most of the map as wilderness. Dan, during the movement/hazard phase, plays Morgul Night, which then treats wilderness as Shadow Lands. We were utterly confused at that point, and decided for the purposes of the game that the two should cancel each other out where appropriate, but I was wondering what the official rule was about it, since at least a basic reading of the cards in question seemed to indicate to me that you'd be stuck in an infinite recursion, treating the same land as a wilderness and then a shadow land and back again forever.
Anyway, my brother and I went back to our parents house to visit for Thanksgiving and help get things ready the weekend before everyone turns up. While cleaning up the attic we found an old hoard of cards for the game and that brought back a wave of nostalgia, so we tried to play again for what must be the first time in 15 years. So neither of us were that great with the rules after reading through the book again.
Anyway, onto what happened. My brother had played Doors of night a few turns back, and it had hung around. During the Long Event phase, I play fog to treat most of the map as wilderness. Dan, during the movement/hazard phase, plays Morgul Night, which then treats wilderness as Shadow Lands. We were utterly confused at that point, and decided for the purposes of the game that the two should cancel each other out where appropriate, but I was wondering what the official rule was about it, since at least a basic reading of the cards in question seemed to indicate to me that you'd be stuck in an infinite recursion, treating the same land as a wilderness and then a shadow land and back again forever.