"Directly Affects" - On guard
Posted: Thu May 21, 2020 7:30 pm
From: viewtopic.php?p=35621#p35621
CDavis7M wrote: ↑Thu May 21, 2020 6:25 pmThe on-guard rules do require the revealed card to "directly affect" the Automatic-attack, only to "modify the automatic-attack." Perhaps you are confused by the second case for revealing on-guard cards when the company plays a card because In that case, in the METW/MELE rulesbooks, the revealed on-guard card must "directly affect the company or a character in the company." Even then, the on-guard rule was later loosened to just "affects."Konrad Klar wrote: ↑Thu May 21, 2020 8:59 am If that what Minions Stir does not count as directly affecting an attack then directly the card may not be revealed as on-guard when Orc AA is faced.
Doors of Night does not directly affect the company, but may affect the company. Night is an ongoing effect that can be enhanced by Night. Doors of Night could be revealed on-guard in response to a company playing a card as long as there is a Man and Dunadan character in the company that would be affected by Doors enhancing Night.Konrad Klar wrote: ↑Thu May 21, 2020 7:16 pm What does this mean in practice?
Can Doors of Night be revealed on-guard if Night is in play?