Imagine I play Flatter a Foe against an assassin played on a character in my company. Is it true that only the first of the assassin's attacks is cancelled?
Are the 2nd and 3rd attacks cancelled if Faf is successfully played and the hazard limit is reduced to below 0? (No, I think)
Flatter a Foe <-> Assassin
- Khamul the Easterling
- Ex Council Member
- Posts: 359
- Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 9:16 pm
- Location: Cologne
- Contact:
- Bandobras Took
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 3154
- Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm
Since the hazard has already resolved, reducing the hazard limit will not get rid of it.
It only cancels one attack.Playable on a character whose company is facing an attack of the type listed below. Character makes an influence check (modified by his unused direct influence and +2 if a diplomat). If successful, the attack is cancelled and the hazard limit for the character's company is decreased by two. This influnce check is successful if the result is greater than: 10 against a Dragon; 11 against Men or Drakes; 12 against Trolls, Orcs, Elves and Giants.
- Konrad Klar
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 4476
- Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
- Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Why not?Khamul the Easterling wrote:Are the 2nd and 3rd attacks cancelled if Faf is successfully played and the hazard limit is reduced to below 0? (No, I think)
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
- Bandobras Took
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 3154
- Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm
He's asking about two things:
The second and third attacks are not cancelled by Flatter a Foe, but the hazard limit is still lowered.
The second and third attacks are not cancelled by Flatter a Foe, but the hazard limit is still lowered.
- Konrad Klar
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 4476
- Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
- Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Why HL can not be lowered below 0?
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
- Khamul the Easterling
- Ex Council Member
- Posts: 359
- Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 9:16 pm
- Location: Cologne
- Contact:
My question had this intention:
Let's say the remaining HL is 1.
Then Assassin is played, Flatter a Foe in response (successfully), the first attack is cancelled, the hazard limit is reduced by 2, so becomes -2.
Do the 2nd and 3rd attacks come through? (I guess yes, they do not need a positive HL to be made possible. - just in case I'm wrong, please tell me)
thx
Let's say the remaining HL is 1.
Then Assassin is played, Flatter a Foe in response (successfully), the first attack is cancelled, the hazard limit is reduced by 2, so becomes -2.
Do the 2nd and 3rd attacks come through? (I guess yes, they do not need a positive HL to be made possible. - just in case I'm wrong, please tell me)
thx
-
- Ex Council Member
- Posts: 474
- Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 3:39 pm
Since you cancel an attack, the card is already in the process of being resolved, so it cannot be undone due to lack of hazard limit. It just helps decreasing the dangers after facing the assassin.
"I used to roll the dice, feel the fear in my enemies eyes."
- Coldplay, Viva la Vida.
Gaming is life, the rest is just dice rolls.
- John Kovalic, Dork Tower
- Coldplay, Viva la Vida.
Gaming is life, the rest is just dice rolls.
- John Kovalic, Dork Tower
- Konrad Klar
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 4476
- Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
- Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
An influence attempt requires an influencing character to tap, an influence check does not.
Foolish Words affects an influence attempt, it does not affect an influence check.
Foolish Words affects an influence attempt, it does not affect an influence check.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.