Timing Rules - Example Snowstorm
Posted: Mon Jun 15, 2020 2:58 pm
Here's the situation:
Player A has two companies. During the first company's MH phase, Player B plays Snowstorm and it resolves. The first company is thus immediately returned to it's site of origin (it has a [-me_wi-] in the site path) and it's MH phase ends. The second company's MH phase begins - it's new site is revealed and cards are drawn (they also have a [-me_wi-] in the site path). One of the cards Player A draws happens to be a Twilight.
I'm trying to figure out if the second company can use Twilight to cancel Snowstorm in a way that will allow the company to continue on to its destination. I think the answer is no, but here's my understanding of the timing/action rules:
After cards are drawn for the second company's MH phase (which happens immediately and concurrently with the revealing of the site card), the (passive?) condition that a company is moving with a [-me_wi-] in its site path triggers the action on Snowstorm that the company returns to its site of origin. Since the card was in play before the MH phase began, there's no time for Player A to create a chain of effects before this triggered action. Player A can play Twilight in response, but removing the card for Snowstorm won't remove the action from the chain of effects, so Twlight can remove Snowstorm but the company will still return to its site of origin because Snowstorm's action was already placed in the chain and it's condition (moving through a [-me_wi-] ) is still met upon resolution.
(Note: I'm using some Magic the Gathering logic here, namely that removing the card that created an action that is already on the stack does not remove/cancel the action from the stack. I'm not sure if that axiom applies in MECCG or not)
On the other hand, if I had a card like The Evenstar (that changes [-me_wi-] to [-me_bl-] ), I could play that in response to the triggered Snowstorm action to fizzle the 'return to site of origin' effect, because the condition of moving through a [-me_wi-] would no longer be met upon resolution of Snowstorm's action.
Do I have all of this right? Or please point out where my logic is broken.
Player A has two companies. During the first company's MH phase, Player B plays Snowstorm and it resolves. The first company is thus immediately returned to it's site of origin (it has a [-me_wi-] in the site path) and it's MH phase ends. The second company's MH phase begins - it's new site is revealed and cards are drawn (they also have a [-me_wi-] in the site path). One of the cards Player A draws happens to be a Twilight.
I'm trying to figure out if the second company can use Twilight to cancel Snowstorm in a way that will allow the company to continue on to its destination. I think the answer is no, but here's my understanding of the timing/action rules:
After cards are drawn for the second company's MH phase (which happens immediately and concurrently with the revealing of the site card), the (passive?) condition that a company is moving with a [-me_wi-] in its site path triggers the action on Snowstorm that the company returns to its site of origin. Since the card was in play before the MH phase began, there's no time for Player A to create a chain of effects before this triggered action. Player A can play Twilight in response, but removing the card for Snowstorm won't remove the action from the chain of effects, so Twlight can remove Snowstorm but the company will still return to its site of origin because Snowstorm's action was already placed in the chain and it's condition (moving through a [-me_wi-] ) is still met upon resolution.
(Note: I'm using some Magic the Gathering logic here, namely that removing the card that created an action that is already on the stack does not remove/cancel the action from the stack. I'm not sure if that axiom applies in MECCG or not)
On the other hand, if I had a card like The Evenstar (that changes [-me_wi-] to [-me_bl-] ), I could play that in response to the triggered Snowstorm action to fizzle the 'return to site of origin' effect, because the condition of moving through a [-me_wi-] would no longer be met upon resolution of Snowstorm's action.
Do I have all of this right? Or please point out where my logic is broken.