the roving eye played on guard...

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
marcos
Ex Council Member
Posts: 2032
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 5:41 pm
Location: Córdoba, Argentina

this is the scenario:

my opponent moves to mount doom with scroll of isildur, he enters the site and test succefully the one ring, can i reveal the roving eye and force the ring bearer to make a cc? i guess this move is legal since during mov/haz phase there is a possible target for the roving eye's corruption check who is the bearer of the scroll. Am I right?
Ringbearer
Ex Council Member
Posts: 474
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 3:39 pm

An on-guard card may be revealed when the company plays a resource that potentially taps the site. The card must affect the company or a character in the company that site phase. Note that this clarification is looser than the rule printed on page 61 of the Unlimited Rules book.
As I recall ringtesting doesnt tap the site, so there is no go here.
"I used to roll the dice, feel the fear in my enemies eyes."
- Coldplay, Viva la Vida.

Gaming is life, the rest is just dice rolls.
- John Kovalic, Dork Tower
marcos
Ex Council Member
Posts: 2032
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 5:41 pm
Location: Córdoba, Argentina

Ringbearer wrote:
An on-guard card may be revealed when the company plays a resource that potentially taps the site. The card must affect the company or a character in the company that site phase. Note that this clarification is looser than the rule printed on page 61 of the Unlimited Rules book.
As I recall ringtesting doesnt tap the site, so there is no go here.
as far as i understand an on-guard card doesn't MUST be revealed after tapping a site, it says MAY...
A revealed on-guard card retroactively takes effect as though it were both declared and resolved immediately prior to the chain of effects during which it was revealed.
it can be revealed in response to the playing of the ring?
A successful ring test does not allow an on-guard card to be revealed.
i guess this other line makes reference to a situation when neither the ring nor the scroll are not in play and no other target may be assigned, but this isn't the case because there was a possible target in play, the bearer of the scroll

Anyone else's opinnion? Mark? Manuel? Anyone can help me with this =P
zarathustra
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 671
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 9:26 pm

as far as i understand an on-guard card doesn't MUST be revealed after tapping a site, it says MAY...
You are correct, but I don't think you understand fully what you are correct about. You may reveal an on guard card when such a card is played. You don't have to, but you may. However, you may NOT reveal an on guard card in any other circumstances.
it can be revealed in response to the playing of the ring?

Quote:
A successful ring test does not allow an on-guard card to be revealed.

i guess this other line makes reference to a situation when neither the ring nor the scroll are not in play and no other target may be assigned, but this isn't the case because there was a possible target in play, the bearer of the scroll
Not a special ring after a test, since that would never tap a site. After the play of a gold ring, of course, it's fine.
http://www.alfanos.org
marcos
Ex Council Member
Posts: 2032
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 5:41 pm
Location: Córdoba, Argentina

so the answer to my question is "no, you can't reveal that card on guard"? :P
zarathustra
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 671
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 9:26 pm

Exactly. :P
http://www.alfanos.org
marcos
Ex Council Member
Posts: 2032
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 5:41 pm
Location: Córdoba, Argentina

hehe, thanks :lol:
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”