Page 1 of 1

the roving eye played on guard...

Posted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 3:10 pm
by marcos
this is the scenario:

my opponent moves to mount doom with scroll of isildur, he enters the site and test succefully the one ring, can i reveal the roving eye and force the ring bearer to make a cc? i guess this move is legal since during mov/haz phase there is a possible target for the roving eye's corruption check who is the bearer of the scroll. Am I right?

Posted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 3:32 pm
by Ringbearer
An on-guard card may be revealed when the company plays a resource that potentially taps the site. The card must affect the company or a character in the company that site phase. Note that this clarification is looser than the rule printed on page 61 of the Unlimited Rules book.
As I recall ringtesting doesnt tap the site, so there is no go here.

Posted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 8:27 pm
by marcos
Ringbearer wrote:
An on-guard card may be revealed when the company plays a resource that potentially taps the site. The card must affect the company or a character in the company that site phase. Note that this clarification is looser than the rule printed on page 61 of the Unlimited Rules book.
As I recall ringtesting doesnt tap the site, so there is no go here.
as far as i understand an on-guard card doesn't MUST be revealed after tapping a site, it says MAY...
A revealed on-guard card retroactively takes effect as though it were both declared and resolved immediately prior to the chain of effects during which it was revealed.
it can be revealed in response to the playing of the ring?
A successful ring test does not allow an on-guard card to be revealed.
i guess this other line makes reference to a situation when neither the ring nor the scroll are not in play and no other target may be assigned, but this isn't the case because there was a possible target in play, the bearer of the scroll

Anyone else's opinnion? Mark? Manuel? Anyone can help me with this =P

Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 2:31 am
by zarathustra
as far as i understand an on-guard card doesn't MUST be revealed after tapping a site, it says MAY...
You are correct, but I don't think you understand fully what you are correct about. You may reveal an on guard card when such a card is played. You don't have to, but you may. However, you may NOT reveal an on guard card in any other circumstances.
it can be revealed in response to the playing of the ring?

Quote:
A successful ring test does not allow an on-guard card to be revealed.

i guess this other line makes reference to a situation when neither the ring nor the scroll are not in play and no other target may be assigned, but this isn't the case because there was a possible target in play, the bearer of the scroll
Not a special ring after a test, since that would never tap a site. After the play of a gold ring, of course, it's fine.

Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 12:17 pm
by marcos
so the answer to my question is "no, you can't reveal that card on guard"? :P

Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 1:21 pm
by zarathustra
Exactly. :P

Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 2:44 pm
by marcos
hehe, thanks :lol: