
I'm pretty sure this card can cancel and discard a Nazgûl played as permanent event, but, can it cancel the effect of The Witch King of Angmar once it has been tapped and became a long-event?

Thanks a lot.
"Remove all hazard permanent-events on the character" may be performed even if "untap him" is not possible (e.g. if target controls Dreams of Lore).Against the Shadow: The Sun Unveiled
C3 Resource: Short-event
Playable on a character at a if Gates of Morning is in play. Remove all hazard permanent-events on the character and, if tapped, untap him. "And the Shadow departed, and the Sun was unveiled, and light leaped forth..."-LotRVI
You left this context out:Konrad Klar wrote: ↑Fri Sep 25, 2020 8:46 am Even if not represented by a card, long-event is still long-event.
----------CRF - Witch-king of Angmar" wrote:Although he becomes a long-event when tapped, he is discarded when the effect resolves just like other Nazgûl. The long-event effect will remain until the appropriate time.
The "discard" action is separate from the "cancel" action (which can result discarding). However, the issue here is that In the Name of Mordor "cancels and discards one Nagul hazard event." If the Witch-king is "not represented by a card," as you mention, that means that the long-event has already resolved. So the event is not in play and so it cannot be targeted by the "cancel" effect. It's true that the ongoing effects are in play, and could potentially be targeted, but In the Name of Mordor does not work that way. In the Name of Mordor does not cancel "ongoing effects of Nazgul events," only the events themselves.Konrad Klar wrote: ↑Fri Sep 25, 2020 8:46 am It is not possible to perform action "discard" on it but "cancel" may be performed.
I do not think that the actions are tied, i.e. actions that may be performed only in conjunction one with other.
You can cancel The Witch-king using In the Name of Mordor but you will need to play it in response, thereby negating resolution of the tapped long-event Witch-king. When the tapped Witch-king resolves in the chain of effects, it will be discarded per the CRF clarification and now it is too late. If the Witch-king stayed in play like it used to before the clarification, then you could just discard/cancel it.
And what happens if I play In The Name of Mordor to With king when is permanent and the opponent taps in response to convert in long event?CDavis7M wrote: ↑Fri Sep 25, 2020 9:14 am You can cancel The Witch-king using In the Name of Mordor but you will need to play it in response, thereby negating resolution of the tapped long-event Witch-king. When the tapped Witch-king resolves in the chain of effects, it will be discarded per the CRF clarification and now it is too late. If the Witch-king stayed in play like it used to before the clarification, then you could just discard/cancel it.
Ninja'dkodi wrote: ↑Fri Sep 25, 2020 10:31 amAnd what happens if I play In The Name of Mordor to With king when is permanent and the opponent taps in response to convert in long event?CDavis7M wrote: ↑Fri Sep 25, 2020 9:14 am You can cancel The Witch-king using In the Name of Mordor but you will need to play it in response, thereby negating resolution of the tapped long-event Witch-king. When the tapped Witch-king resolves in the chain of effects, it will be discarded per the CRF clarification and now it is too late. If the Witch-king stayed in play like it used to before the clarification, then you could just discard/cancel it.
Thank you!
In the Name of Mordor fails if the opponent taps it in response, because the Witch-king will resolve first and with the Clarification, it will be discarded just as a short-event is discarded.kodi wrote: ↑Fri Sep 25, 2020 10:31 amAnd what happens if I play In The Name of Mordor to With king when is permanent and the opponent taps in response to convert in long event?CDavis7M wrote: ↑Fri Sep 25, 2020 9:14 am You can cancel The Witch-king using In the Name of Mordor but you will need to play it in response, thereby negating resolution of the tapped long-event Witch-king. When the tapped Witch-king resolves in the chain of effects, it will be discarded per the CRF clarification and now it is too late. If the Witch-king stayed in play like it used to before the clarification, then you could just discard/cancel it.
I think this is the same question as above? Unlike every other long-event in the game (per rules on long events), the Witch-king's effect will last even though the card is not in play (CRF: "The long-event effect will remain until the appropriate time"). So, this also means that the Witch-king cannot be played again until the on-going effect has been removed due to the rules on "Unique" cards ("If a card states that it is "unique" or that it "may not be duplicated,'' only one such card (or its effects) may be in play at a time").Mordakai wrote: ↑Fri Sep 25, 2020 10:35 am Aaaannndd... what if the actions are in the opposite order? I mean: I play In the Name of Mordor on an permanent Witch King, and my opponent, in response to that, activates it, discarding it and turning it into a long event...
By the same reasoning (i think) now it does not works, as the Witch King is no longer on the table, just remains his "ongoinf effect" as long event when my In the Name of Mordor is resolved. Correct?