I’d like to know, when using the Regiment of Black Crows ability to cancel the attack of an Ahunt manifestation, if the Ahunt stays on table or gets back to opponents hand.
I presume is the first one, but this game is full of surprises

Thanks,
Toni
I think that neither.Against the Shadow: Regiment of Black Crows
C3 Resource: Ally
Playable at a tapped or untapped non-Under-deeps Ruins and Lairs . May not be attacked. Discard this ally if controlling character is wounded. this ally to cancel a hazard creature attack not keyed to a site and to put the creature's card back into its player's hand. Cannot be duplicated on a given company.
There is no such thing as a "joint action" in the rules of MECCG nor is there anything in the game that requires actions to be joint. There are a few sets of actions listed in the CRF as being "synonymous" or "simultaneous" but these are not the same as the "joint actions" that you made up because your "joint actions" require both actions to happen for either of the actions to happen. The "synonymous" or "simultaneous" actions in the CRF do not generally have this requirement.Konrad Klar wrote: ↑Fri Oct 16, 2020 12:08 pm "to cancel a hazard creature attack not keyed to a site and to put the creature's card back into its player's hand."
are joint actions, i.e. they are not consecutive. If they would be consecutive then after canceling a creature would be discarded and put action could not be performed.
More misinformation with no basis in the rules. First, Regiment of Black Crows does not "cancel a creature" it cancels a hazard creature attack. The attack is separate and distinct from the creature card that created the attack. Second, your argument assumes that the action of cancelling a hazards creature attack includes discarding the creature card, but there is nothing in the rules to support this. The only conclusion that the rules support is that non-defeated creature cards are discarded after resolution of the attack. This is because cards are discarded when they no longer have an effect on play. Cancelling the attack resolves the attack. The action of cancelling the attack causes the attack to resolve, which then causes the creature to be discarded.Konrad Klar wrote: ↑Fri Oct 16, 2020 12:08 pm "to cancel a hazard creature attack not keyed to a site and to put the creature's card back into its player's hand."
are joint actions, i.e. they are not consecutive. If they would be consecutive then after canceling a creature would be discarded and put action could not be performed.
There's no basis in the rules for this statement as discussed above.Konrad Klar wrote: ↑Fri Oct 16, 2020 12:08 pm Therefore if an action "cancel" cannot be performed then "put" cannot be performed and vice versa.
Yes, that certainly is possible. Just because the cancel action cannot be performed does not mean that the "put the creature's card back into its player's hand" cannot be performed.Konrad Klar wrote: ↑Fri Oct 16, 2020 12:08 pm Otherwise it would be possible to force to put into hand Slayer even if Forewarned is Forearmed would be in play.
According to your position above, even if the Slayer attack cannot be cancelled, the attack may not be continued if the Slayer creature card is put in its player's hand.Konrad Klar wrote: ↑Sometimes an attack is canceled just because it cannot be continued, not because action "cancel" was invoked.
This may happen if defender is removed from play (due to failed cc, for example) in middle of resolving attack.
It would be difficult (if not nonsense) to demand continuing of such attack only because it cannot be canceled (go back to play and fight! This attack cannot be canceled... ).
Attacks that cannot be canceled are immune to action "cancel", not immune to inability of proceding the attack.
Again, there is no such thing as "joint actions." Furthermore, ICE has clarified what happens with Ahunt long-events.Konrad Klar wrote: ↑Fri Oct 16, 2020 12:08 pm Because in case of Ahunts there is not a creature's card that would be put into hand, the cancel action cannot be performed too.
From: Ichabod
Subject: [METW] Clarifications/Reversals 2/4/97
Date: 1997/02/04
Okay guys, here's the latest list of Ichabod's Screw-ups:
1) Ahunt cards are supposed to stay with Foes Shall Fall. This leads
to the following clarification on Foes Shall Fall and Bring Our Curses
Home:
Bring Our Curses Home/Foes Shall Fall (clarification)--These cards can be
played on a character facing an attack from a Dragon Ahunt manifestation (but
not At Home manifestation). In this case, place the Ahunt card, though a
long-event, with the character as you would a normal creature card. The Ahunt
card attacks when the company moves into the appropriate regions given.
From: Craig Ichabod O'Brien
Subject: [MECCG] Rules Digest 111
Date: 1998/07/22
>5) If RoBC is tapped to cancel the first Slayer attack (keyed to
>Borderlands) is the second attack also automatically cancelled (or
>nullified) by the fact that the Slayer's card is sent back to the hazard
>player's hand?
Yes.
>6) What effect does tapping RoBC have on an Ahunt dragon attack? Is the
>Ahunt long-event sent back to hand?
Yes.
It would be helpful to state that you are discussing the COE Digest 55 since there is also the ICE Digest 55.
This ruling is wrong and it misunderstands the CRF entry. Bring Our Curses Home CAN be played on an attack creature by Ride Against the Enemy because Ride Against the Enemy creatures a hazard creature attack. It's true that there is no creature card associated with the hazard creature attack created by Ride Against the Enemy and so there is no possibility of creating additional attacks. Still, Bring our Curses Home will give 3 corruption points.CoE Digest 55 wrote: There was a gigantic discussion about the interaction of Bring Our
Curses Home and Ride Against the Enemy. The following rulings resulted
from that discussion:
First of all, Bring Our Curses Home may not be played on an attack
created by Ride Against the Enemy due to the following CRF entry: CRF,
Card Errata and Rulings, Ride Against the Enemy: Hazards have no effect
on the attack, and any resource effects that benefit the attack are
cancelled.
----------ICE wrote:From: Craig Ichabod O'Brien
Subject: [MECCG] Rules Digest 81
Date: 1998/05/10
>Ride Against the Enemy
>The important line is "Other cards have no effect on this attack." This
>is obviously intended to stop creature pumpers affecting this attack.
>Does this however also prevent a card from cancelling this attack?
It means that hazards have no effect on the attack, and resources which
benefit the attack are canceled. (CRF, Card Rulings, Ride Against the
Enemy)
This is misleading. The CoE Netrep doesn't understand what "targeting" is. The issue is not "targeting" it is "affecting." The rules on the long-event phase do not specifically "target" the long-events for discard. This is because "targeting" necessarily requires choosing a specific entity while the rules on long-event apply to all long-events of a specific class without choosing.CoE Digest 55 wrote: B) You cannot target the card with an in play BOCH as it is "off to the
side" and if it is a long event it won't follow the normal discard after
two turns rule either.
This is wrong. I don't know how the CoE Netrep can read the rules on "Off to the Side" and then somehow end up with this wrong conclusion.CoE Digest 55 wrote: C) From the METD insert, Manifestations of Dragons: If at any time an
attack from a manifestation of a unique Dragon is defeated or if the
manifestation is otherwise removed from the game: 1) All existing
manifestations in play of the same Dragon are removed from the game. 2)
No further manifestations of the same Dragon may be played. ..
So if a dragon manifestation is killed and BOCH has a manifestation of
that dragon off to the side, the Dragon on BOCH goes out of play.
Again, Any card placed off to the side absolutely cannot be targeted or otherwise affected by the game except by cards that specifically affect cards placed "off to the side."CoE Digest 55 wrote: D) There are some cards (resources) that will discard a creature
currently attacking or put it back into its owners hand. Examples are
Regiment of Black Crows and Riddling Talk. When successfully played,
such cards remove the creature from BOCH.
There is no need to make this new ruling because the rules absolutely do not allow the creature with BOCH to be removed from play by cards that do not specifically affect cards placed "off to the side."CoE Digest 55 wrote: E) A long ago Brian issued this ruling: Great Secrets Buried There is
discarded if there is no item on it, to avoid cheezy plays and added
confusion due to more exceptions. This is based upon the rule for
capturing host cards. It is extended to affect all host cards that
cannot have other cards played upon them. -- Ruled by Brian in CoE
Rulings/Clarifications 11
This also applies to BOCH when the creature placed off to the side with
it is removed from play.
It's not just that, but the character in Ride Against the Enemy is not even attacking the company. Ride Against the Enemy merely creates "a single-strike hazard creature with the attributes of the revealed character, except the prowess is increased by 7."CoE Digest 55 wrote: I) A character played with Ride Against the Enemy is not able to be
taken as a trophy. CRF under Keyword Trophy: Characters may not be taken
as trophies.
Yes.
Even if Slayer's attack cannot be cancelled, tapping Regiment of Black Crows will put the Slayer card into it's owners hand. When the Slayer card leaves play, it immediately ceases to have an effect on the game and so the Slayer's attack immediately ceases.Konrad Klar wrote: ↑Sat Oct 17, 2020 5:11 amBut the Slayer creature card cannot be put in hand for other reason.
Granted.
Konrad Klar wrote: ↑Fri Oct 16, 2020 12:08 pm Otherwise it would be possible to force to put into hand Slayer even if Forewarned is Forearmed would be in play.
The Designers of the game decided that the Ahunt Dragon cards should work as if they were a hazard creature for the purposes of cards usable with a hazard creature attack and operable on a creature card.CDavis7M wrote: ↑Fri Oct 16, 2020 5:32 pmFrom: Ichabod
Subject: [METW] Clarifications/Reversals 2/4/97
Date: 1997/02/04
1) Ahunt cards are supposed to stay with Foes Shall Fall. This leads
to the following clarification on Foes Shall Fall and Bring Our Curses
Home:
Bring Our Curses Home/Foes Shall Fall (clarification)--These cards can be
played on a character facing an attack from a Dragon Ahunt manifestation (but
not At Home manifestation). In this case, place the Ahunt card, though a
long-event, with the character as you would a normal creature card. The Ahunt
card attacks when the company moves into the appropriate regions given.From: Craig Ichabod O'Brien
Subject: [MECCG] Rules Digest 111
Date: 1998/07/22
>5) If RoBC is tapped to cancel the first Slayer attack (keyed to
>Borderlands) is the second attack also automatically cancelled (or
>nullified) by the fact that the Slayer's card is sent back to the hazard
>player's hand?
Yes.
>6) What effect does tapping RoBC have on an Ahunt dragon attack? Is the
>Ahunt long-event sent back to hand?
Yes.