marcos wrote: ↑Wed Nov 25, 2020 2:31 pm
The fact that they are not written on this forum doesn't imply that they doesn't exist. There are many platforms for social interaction nowadays, and a lot of groups about this game (and many other themes).
You first said "
most rules questions," not mere existence of such questions. But that's interesting that the word "affect" commands most of the non-English rules questions on MECCG, because only a small fraction of English language rules questions discuss the word "affect" on Council of Elrond, the MECCG facebook group, the MECCG discord, the Card Num chat, the MECCG.net forum, the METW silent-tower/yahoo mailing list, and the trading-card.misc newsgroup.
----------
marcos wrote: ↑Wed Nov 25, 2020 2:31 pm
Unfortunately, the dictionary is not a part of the rules set, so it gives room to different interpretations. That is why i wanted an official game-deffinition.
I think it is fortunate that the dictionary is not copied into the rulesbook, because it is long enough as is. But of course the game relies on understanding of English definitions because the Designers wrote the rules and cards in English. This game does not give definitions for term that have their ordinary meaning. No game does this. I gave the definition of "affect." What about it was unclear? I don't see any conflicting definitions. Usually any conflicting definitions can be resolved by recognizing the context.
----------
marcos wrote: ↑Wed Nov 25, 2020 2:31 pm
For example: to "affect" an automatic attack at a site, is equivalent to "affecting" the site? some might argue yes, and some might argue no.
I don't see any room for argument. I find that the answer is often clearly in the rule being questioning, so it helps to quote it.
CRF, Turn Sequence, Site Phase: "
A company may not play any resource during the site phase until they have faced all automatic-attacks, unless that resource directly affects an automatic-attack. Removing an automatic-attack does not directly affect it, although cancelling does."
An automatic-attack is an attribute of a site card that can create an attack against a company. Removing an automatic-attack from a site card affects the site card's attributes, not the attack against the company.
This is the reason that the rule above states that removing an automatic-attack from a site card does not affect the automatic-attack being faced by the company entering the site. Of course the removal of an automatic attack would mean that the
company no longer has to face an attack. But whether the company would have to face an attack is not a consideration under this rule. The rule states "
unless that resource directly affects an automatic-attack" and so the question is specifically whether a particular RESOURCE affects the ATTACK being faced.
The rule was even clarified:
CRF, Turn Sequence, Site Phase:
"The only resources you may play against automatic-attacks are ones that cancel the attack, cancel a strike, or would be otherwise playable during the strike sequence."
Affecting a site card does not cancel an attack, cancel a strike, or affect a strike.
So to your question: No, to "affect" an automatic attack at a site is not equivalent to "affecting" the site.
----------
marcos wrote: ↑Wed Nov 25, 2020 2:31 pm
Rules say that a minion permanent event can't "affect" a hero site and viceversa, does it means that forewarned is forearmed has no effect on minion sites?
The be clear, the MEWH rules, with errata, state "
A hero resource event card may not target/affect a minion site card or a minion resource card."
Forewarned is Forearmed states "
Any non-Dragon Lair site with more than one automatic-attack is reduced to having one automatic-attack of the hazard player's choice (this attack cannot be canceled)." That is, the non-selected automatic-attacks of the site card are removed. This effect does not "target" the site (it's a non-targeting effect), but it clearly
affects the site.
A Fallen-wizard's hefore Forewarned is Forearmed does not reduce the automatic-attacks of minion site cards. Just like a Fallen-wizard's minion Rumor of the One does not give +1 corruption to hero rings. And so on.
----------
marcos wrote: ↑Wed Nov 25, 2020 2:31 pm
For example, i play lucky search with my Strider and find an item in the last card of my deck, so he would have to face a strike of a thousand prowess, but then in response to the attack i replace him with Aragorn and the strike fizzles. Some might argue that the fizzling the strike does affect the attack making it loose its target, and some might argue that it does not affect the attack.
Strider cannot be used to play Aragorn to avoid Lucky Search's strike. There are 2 reasons why this doesn't work. First, recognize that playing Aragorn II with Strider's ability would negate the active conditions of Lucky Search (the target Scout, and the Scout being tapped) because Strider, the scout, is removed from the game at declaration of the play of Aragorn II as an active condition.
Second, there is a difference between affecting an attack/strike and affecting the target of the strike. Playing Aragorn affects the Strider card, the cards on Strider, and the Aragorn card,
but it does not affect the attack or any strike. Strider's card text doesn't include the work "attack" or "strike." Using Strider's ability to remove the target of an attack/strike does not cancel the attack/strike itself. And Strider is not a resource card.
CRF, Terms, Active Conditions: An active condition must be in play or established when the action requiring it is declared. Active conditions serve as the price of an action. They are restrictions on the player invoking the action.
CRF, Terms, Active Conditions: Annotation 5: ... When it comes time to resolve the action in its chain of effects, that entity must still be in play and tapped or the action is canceled
CRF, Terms, Active Conditions: Annotation 8: An action that requires a target is considered to have the active condition that the target be in play when the action is declared and when it is resolved.
CRF, Turn Sequence, Combat: Annotation 18: When a defending player chooses to resolve a strike against a particular character, the only actions that may be taken by either player until the strike dice-roll is made are the following: playing hazard cards that affect the strike, the attacker may decide to use any or all of his remaining -1 modifications due to strikes in excess of the company's size, a target untapped character may take a -3 modification so that he will not automatically tap, and the defending character may play resource cards that affect the strike. An action that has the condition that a target character tap, but which otherwise has an effect not outlined here, may not be declared at this point. This is true even if the recipient of the strike would be the target character tapping and thus receive -1 to his prowess.
CRF, Terms, Timing: Annotation 24: If a card specifies that more than one action occurs when the card itself is resolved in a chain of effects, all of these actions are to be resolved in the card's chain of effects uninterrupted and in the order listed on the card. No actions may be declared to occur between these multiple actions. The actions listed on the card are considered to have been declared in the reverse order as they are printed (amendment to original version of Annotation 24): As an exception, if one of the effects of a card is an attack, cards may be played that cancel the attack, cancel one of its strikes, or that otherwise are playable during the strike sequence--see Annotation 18 (Turn Sequence, Movement/ Hazard Phase, Combat, Strike Sequence).
(1) Targeting a scout and tapping the target scout are active conditions of the action of playing Lucky Search. These active conditions must still be satisfied when Lucky Search resolves. However, Strider's ability negates Lucky Search's active conditions when satisfying its own active conditions.
Removing Strider from the game is an active condition for the action of bringing Aragorn II into play. It's clear that the action of removing Strider from the game is an active condition because the player actively decides to remove Strider from the game as the condition for playing Aragorn II. And removal of Strider is a restriction preventing the player from invoking Strider's special ability again. Removal of Strider is the price for declaring the play of Aragorn II. As an active condition,
Strider is removed from the game when Strider's the play of Aragorn II is declared.
So if Strider's ability is declared (assuming that it could be resolved during resolution of Lucky Search per Annotation 24), then Strider is removed from the game before it comes time to resolve Lucky Search, thereby negating the active conditions of Lucky Search. So it doesn't work.
(2) Since one of the actions listed on Lucky Search is an attack per the amendment to Annotation 24, you suggest using Strider's ability to interrupt the declaration of Lucky Search's actions by the declaration of the action of playing Aragorn II. In general, activating an ability of a card follows the same rules as playing a card. However, Activating Strider's ability affects the Strider character card, the cards on Strider, and the Aragorn II card. Nothing in Strider's card text mentions anything about cancelling an attack, cancelling a strike, and Strider is not a resource that affects a strike per Annotation 18.
Strider cannot be used to play Aragorn to avoid Lucky Search's strike.