Page 1 of 1

Random Rules Questions

Posted: Sun Oct 17, 2021 12:58 pm
by Anth
Here are a few of my gaming friends' recent questions:

1. Some characters have +3 direct influence for controlling troll or orc characters. + orc factions also. Can that apply to multiple uses at the same time, for example 5 orc characters all with 2 mind? Or if you use the +3 for an orc character, does that mean you can't use it for the bonus of direct influence for a faction check?

2. can a long event hazard be played as a guard?

3. For orcs and trolls that have "discard on a body check of 8". Does that change when doing a body check for a previously wounded character who is now being rolled for a body check again? Would it change to discard on a body check of 7? It seems like it should, otherwise there is no greater chance of killing him.

Re: Random Rules Questions

Posted: Sun Oct 17, 2021 1:41 pm
by Konrad Klar
Anth wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 12:58 pm 1. Some characters have +3 direct influence for controlling troll or orc characters. + orc factions also. Can that apply to multiple uses at the same time, for example 5 orc characters all with 2 mind? Or if you use the +3 for an orc character, does that mean you can't use it for the bonus of direct influence for a faction check?
Latter. If the direct influence against Orc character/faction is used to control an Orc character, then it is already utilized and cannot be used during an influence attempt against Orc character/faction.
Anth wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 12:58 pm 2. can a long event hazard be played as a guard?
Sometimes.
CRF wrote:Only declared or on-going cards and effects can be considered when determining the
validity of revealing an on-guard card. Potential effects that have not been triggered
cannot be considered.
So if, for example, there are some sources of Corruption Points in company proceeding its site phase, The Balance of Things may be revealed. If company attempts to play an resource that could potentially tap the site.
Or if the company enters a site and faces an automatic-attack and Doors of Night is in play, then Night may be revealed.
Or if company attempts to influence a faction, then Times Are Evil may be played (in this case, no matter whether this attempt would tap a the site if successful).
Anth wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 12:58 pm 3. For orcs and trolls that have "discard on a body check of 8". Does that change when doing a body check for a previously wounded character who is now being rolled for a body check again? Would it change to discard on a body check of 7? It seems like it should, otherwise there is no greater chance of killing him.
Strictly speaking, if a character is in state "wounded" its body is not lowered (at least not for this reason). Rather "If the character was already
wounded before this strike, the roll is modified by +1." And this applies only in strike sequence. It does not apply if body check is performed for other reasons, e.g. in result of Dragon's Blood.

Re: Random Rules Questions

Posted: Sat Oct 22, 2022 11:36 am
by Konrad Klar
Correction.
Konrad Klar wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 1:41 pm And this applies only in strike sequence. It does not apply if body check is performed for other reasons, e.g. in result of Dragon's Blood.
This applies only for body check resulting from strike sequence; body check is not part of strike sequence. It does not apply if body check is performed for other reasons, e.g. in result of Dragon's Blood.