Page 1 of 1

A Few Newbie Questions

Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 2:35 am
by bfchooch
Hi-

I have a few questions that I think I know the answer to, but I'd like some reassurance anyway. =D
Rules, METW wrote: 2. The attacker may decide to use any or all of his remaining (if any) -1 modifications due to unallocated strikes (i.e., strikes in excess of the company's size).
I assume "attacker" means opponent when resolving automatic-attacks. So your opponent decides who gets the -1 modifiers, if any. Right?
Rain-drake wrote: May also be played at Ruins & Lairs that has two Wildernesses or one Coastal Sea in its site path.
So, for example, even if a company at Buhr Widu does not move, the Rain-drake can still be keyed to its site?
Rules, MELE wrote: ยท One company may already be at the site. In this case the other company moving to the site must state that its new site card is already in play (the current site card for the non-moving company). This site card remains in play until at least the end of the turn.
This is a weird one. The rules state that a player may move a company to site already in play by simply stating his intention. But if the player does not intend to move the company, does he state "Company B is not moving" or "Company B's site card is already in play?"

I ask because my opponent today stated his company's site card was "already in play" during the Org Phase, but when it came to that company's M/H phase, he would have preferred the company to stay put. Does he have that option? I assume that is illegal, no?

All seem like obvious answers, but it doesn't hurt to ask.

Thanks.

Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 4:43 am
by Bandobras Took
1) Yes, the attacker is assumed to be the player who is not defending against the strike, and allocates all -1 penalties unless there is an effect in play which allows the Defender to assign strikes (e.g. Clear Skies).

2) Yes, if we are assuming the Hero version of Buhr Widu. The Minion Version does not have two wildernesses in its site path. (There is an important difference between a site's site path as indicated on the card and a company's site path as indicated by their movement.)

3) Traditionally, if a party is not moving, such is indicated in the org. phase by stating "This company is not moving" or "Company A squats." The phrase "to a site on table" is used to indicate movement. By the rule you quoted, if your opponent stated that the company's site was already in play, this clearly indicates movement. You've got to move if you declare your intention to move, and, what's more, the site to which the company will be moving should be clearly indicated. That's only fair play.

Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 7:33 am
by Vastor Peredhil
Please correct
(e.g. Clear Skies).
into Cloudless Day

mfg Nicolai

Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 1:18 pm
by bfchooch
Thanks much for the quick reply!
Bandobras Took wrote:(There is an important difference between a site's site path as indicated on the card and a company's site path as indicated by their movement.)
Is it usually obvious which one you're dealing with any given time? And if the company is using Starter Movement, the site's site path and the company's site path are one and the same, no?

Thanks again.

Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 1:40 pm
by marcos
bfchooch wrote: And if the company is using Starter Movement, the site's site path and the company's site path are one in the same, no?

Thanks again.
yes

Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 2:52 pm
by Bandobras Took
Vastor Peredhil wrote:Please correct
(e.g. Clear Skies).
into Cloudless Day

mfg Nicolai
Ooops. :oops:

Knew it was one of the two.

Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 5:45 pm
by Konrad Klar
marcos wrote:
bfchooch wrote: And if the company is using Starter Movement, the site's site path and the company's site path are one in the same, no?

Thanks again.
yes
In most cases yes, i.e. if region type symbol in company's site path is changed then region type symbol in site's site path is changed.
However company's site path may be changed without changing of any region type symbol.
Hey! come merry dol! wrote:Playable at the end of the organization phase on a moving company. Each Wilderness [w] symbol in the company's site path counts as half a Wilderness [w]. When calculating the number of Wildernesses [w] in such a site path, round down for the final result. With another hop and a bound there came into view a man, or so it seemed.-LotRI
Roam the Waste creates similar effect, but Balrog's companies cannot use starter movement.
Roam the Waste wrote:Balrog specific. Playable during the organization phase if Strangling Coils is in play. You may bring this card from your sideboard into your play deck and reshuffle during your organization phase. Each of your companies this turn is considered to have one fewer Wilderness [w] and one fewer Shadow-land [s] in its site path.