revealing an agent

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
marcos
Ex Council Member
Posts: 2032
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 5:41 pm
Location: Córdoba, Argentina

When an agent is revealed, can the opponent respond to that action by playing "withdrawn to mordor"? and if yes, can the controller of the agent respond by playing "pilfer anything..."?
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

If revealing of agent is active condition of other action (playing card requiring agent), then it takes place at declaration. Opponent may fizzle this action by playing Withdrawn to Mordor in response.
If revealing of agent is action by iself (i.e. player declares that agent will be revealed), then it takes place at resolution. Opponent may fizzle this action by playing identical agent as character (e.g. using We Have Come to Kill) or its manifestation in response.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
marcos
Ex Council Member
Posts: 2032
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 5:41 pm
Location: Córdoba, Argentina

but, if that agent is revealed by itself, then oponent responds playing withdrawn, can the agent's owner respond with pilfer? or isn't it considered revealed since it hasn't resolved the chain of effects yet?
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Playable on a face-up agent. If the agent has a mind of 5 or less, it is discarded. If its mind is 6 or greater, return it to its owner's hand. Alternatively, an on-guard card is discarded.
If revealing the agent is an action, then you must wait for it to resolve before playing Withdrawn (until the action resolves, the agent is not considered "face-up", so Withdrawn cannot target the agent).

If revealing the agent is an active condition of another card, then it is considered revealed and you may play Withdrawn in response to the declaration of the other card.

At least, that's the way I see it.
marcos
Ex Council Member
Posts: 2032
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 5:41 pm
Location: Córdoba, Argentina

cleared, thanks
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

marcos wrote:but, if that agent is revealed by itself, then oponent responds playing withdrawn, can the agent's owner respond with pilfer?
If Withdrawn to Mordor was played on untapped revealed agent, opponent can respond with Pilfer Anything Unwatched.

I fully agree with Bandobras Took's post.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”