In other words:
Texts of Plotting Ruin, Heart Grown Cold mean that if for a given site exists a card site of type
![Free Hold [-me_fh-]](./images/smilies/me_fh.png)
or
Texts of Plotting Ruin, Heart Grown Cold mean that if for a given site exists a card site of type
![Free Hold [-me_fh-]](./images/smilies/me_fh.png)
or
(something else)
To be specific, let's say a Fallen-Wizard player has played Plotting Ruin and Heart Grown Cold is in play. They have a non-overt company at hero Weathertop and they want to move to Rivendell. The White Hand rules say "Fallen-wizard's non-overt companies must use hero sites for sites that are not Ruins & Lairs." Rivendell is not a Ruins & Lairs so they must use hero Rivendell, which is a Haven, according to this rule. But Plotting Ruin and Heart Grown Cold both state that the player "must use minion site cards for Hero Havens". So instead of using hero haven Rivendell according to the rule, they use Minion free-hold Rivendell because of the card effect.Konrad Klar wrote: ↑Mon Oct 03, 2022 5:17 pm I'm a bit confused too.
If Plotting Ruin, Heart Grown Cold are in play in organization phase, how a company attempting to move to Rivendell could be going to use hero Rivendell card?
I guess it goes back to this other rule:Konrad Klar wrote: ↑Mon Oct 03, 2022 5:49 pm I got it. Thanks.
Sounds like:
"For some types of sites player must use minion version of the site card instead hero version of the site card".
i.e. not affecting of use of potential FW versions.
Plotting Ruin and Heart Grown Cold do not talk about Fallen-wizard site cards, only hero site cards.Sites - There are four Fallen-wizard site cards: Isengard, The White
Towers, Rhosgobel, and Deep Mines. These site cards have a light
gray background. Unless stated otherwise on a card, a Fallen-wizard
player may use these sites instead of the hero/minion versions.
Plotting Ruin, Heart Grown Cold are the cards. Fortress of the Towers is a card and forbids opponents using FW version of The White Towers.Unless stated otherwise on a card
Strictly speaking, when either of those cards refer to hero havens, they by rule instead refer to Wizardhavens.MEWH wrote:When rules and non-site cards refer to Havens and Darkhavens, they apply instead to your Wizardhavens.
Strictly speaking: no. They are distinct terms. "Hero haven" is a hero site that has type ofBandobras Took wrote: ↑Tue Aug 01, 2023 2:50 pm Strictly speaking, when either of those cards refer to hero havens, they by rule instead refer to Wizardhavens.
Such intents exist and, for reasons explained above, it is possible to realize such intents.Bandobras Took wrote: ↑Tue Aug 01, 2023 2:50 pm I have to imagine, though, that the intent was to actually have the cards refer strictly to non-FW sites, and they forgot that they made it impossible to do so.
CRF. Rulings by Term, Agent wrote:Agents may not move to any version of a hero Haven, unless they have a special
ability allowing them to.