LeNoirEpee wrote: ↑Thu Oct 20, 2022 3:41 pm
Sorry, I should have said: Then I saw URD(4.2), not CRF.
On page 54 of URD 4.2 first diamond: A hazard that affects the automatic-attack can be revealed when the company faces the automatic attack. Note that adding an automatic attack is not affecting it[CRF].
So it seems that the person who said to me that Incite Denizens was revealable as an OG card was mistaking on the rule.
The URD is not "the rule." It's a document made by a player. There are a lot of mistakes in the URD. Not only that, there are a few points where the URD author simply makes things up. Usually the made up parts are shown as an "editors note" or "controversial opinion" or whatever. But sometimes, like here, the author just made something up. Sometimes the author put something into the URD and then forgot but continued to argue that such rulings didn't exist on here. Hm.. Anyway, you'll find that the URD is full of errors and misinformation if you look more into it. Some of the fault is on the URD author, some on the old CoE Netreps. There must be over a hundred errors in it. I stopped counting. I wonder how people find the document...
viewtopic.php?t=4170
Incite Denizens can be revealed on-guard. Balrog of Moria is another hazard that gives a site card an additional automatic attack rather than modifying an existing attack and it is the classic "on-guard" example in the old versions of the CRF before the CRF was condensed. Incite is also mentioned specifically in a ruling. I'll explain more below.
Related but not on point ruling:
https://groups.google.com/g/rec.games.t ... 1IjOu88koJ
From: ich...@spamblock.net (Ichabod)
Subject: Re: METW questions
Date: 1997/06/04
>If someone has played incite denizens as an "on-guard" card at Isengard
>does it modify the orc strikes from Windlord?
No, it is just an attack, not an auto-attack.
------ "The Crossing-guard of Mordor" ------
Craig "Ichabod" O'Brien
http://www.cstone.net/~ichabod
ich...@cstone.net Me:CCG Official Netrep
Vegetarians Taste Better Praise "Bob"
--Self Proclaimed Most Mediocre Magic Player in the World--
Balrog of Moria on-guard description. Incite follows the same reasoning.
From: ich...@spamblock.net (Ichabod)
Subject: [MECCG] CRF 5, General pt.1
Date: 1997/07/10
On-Guard Cards
An often confusing point is when and if certain hazards can be revealed as
on-guard cards. There are two cases when a face down card may be revealed,
and, thusly, affect an opponent's company: 1) when the company announces it
will face a site's automatic-attacks (before the automatic-attack is itself
faced), and 2) when the company plays a card keyed to the site.
For case #1, it is essential to realize that if the site has no
automatic-attacks (like all normally occuring Free-holds), you cannot
reveal an on-guard card according to this criterium. Additionally, an event
that modifies the prowess of a character may not be revealed--only hazards
that modify an automatic-attack itself can be. A creature revealed as an
on-guard card is not considered an automatic-attack--it is considered a
hazard creature attack.
. . .
Balrog of Moria could be revealed when a company chooses to face the
automatic-attacks at Moria (Balrog modifies Moria's automatic-attacks).
However, it could not be revealed in response to the play of an item at
Moria because Balrog in no way can affect the company for the rest of the
site phase (unless for some reason the company is fated to face the
automatic-attacks again).
----------
The CRF is the "Collected Rulings File" which was a document updated and released by ICE's appointed "NetRep" back in the day. You can see the CRF rulings on the site phase including the on-guard rulings here:
https://groups.google.com/g/rec.games.t ... u0I4GP-YUJ
On-Guard Cards
Rules Erratum: An on-guard card may only be revealed if it could have also been played
during the movement/hazard phase. This means all targets of the card must have existed
during the movement/hazard phase in order for the card to be revealed.
A revealed on-guard card retroactively takes effect as though it were both declared and
resolved immediately prior to the chain of effects during which it was revealed.
An on-guard card may be revealed when the company plays a resource that potentially taps
the site. The card must affect the company or a character in the company that site phase.
Note that this clarification is looser than the rule printed on p.61 of the Unlimited Rules
book
A successful ring test does not allow an on-guard card to be revealed.
You may reveal a card in response to an influence attempt against a faction even if the
on-guard card only has an effect if the attempt is successful. You may also reveal a card in
response to such an attempt that affects the actual influence attempt.
Only declared or on-going cards and effects can be considered when determining the
validity of revealing an on-guard card. Potential effects that have not been triggered cannot
be considered.
A card cannot be revealed that:
Returns a company to its site of origin.
Taps a company's site.
Potentially removes a character from a company, besides combat or corruption checks.
Forces a company to do nothing during its site phase.
Directly taps a character in the company.
A card that potentially removes an ally from the company can be revealed, so long as it
otherwise is legal.
The on-guard card is not considered to be in any player's hand.
When an on-guard card is revealed, it immediately ceases to be considered an on-guard card.
Creatures may only be revealed on-guard if there is an automatic-attack at the site.
If two companies are at a Haven, on-guard cards played on one company can only be
revealed against that company, and can only affect that company (unless the hazard states it
affects all versions of the site).
See also Rulings By Term, Burglary Attempts.
----------
The most recent on-guard rule is in the Challenge Deck / Balrog rules summary. It is only slightly different from The Lidless Eye which I am showing here since Lidless Eye also includes the full site phase rules, which end up being relevant in this case:

- On-guard - automaticattacks.png (503.55 KiB) Viewed 1668 times
The term "automatic-attack" is used both for (A) the (non-combat non-dice rolling) property of a site card and (2) for the "attack" (consisting of strike dice rolls in combat) that is created from the automatic-attack property of the site card.
The on-guard rules are referring to (1) the property of the site card, not (2) the actual attack that is created. You can tell because the on-guard rules refer to the decision making by the player and at the time the decision is made the player is deciding whether to "do nothing" or "follow this procedure." When the player decides to follow the procedure which involves entering the site and facing the automatic attack, the player is not yet facing the automatic attack. The decision happens before step 1 of the procedure. The attack is only created at step 2 of the procedure.