Page 1 of 1
dragons hunger, ahunts and marvels told
Posted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 10:03 am
by coro
dragon's hunger:
Playable on a Dragon or Drake attack. If one is available, opponent must discard a hazard creature from his hand; this reduces the company's hazard limit by one. Otherwise, the attack is canceled and the opponent must reveal his hand. "The ponies screamed with terror, burst their ropes, and galloped wildly off. The dragon swooped and turned to pursue them..." -Hob
If I play it against a dragon ahunt reducing the limit can I afterwards marvel the ahunt?
Posted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 1:20 pm
by jaded
Sure, you can also do it before it attacks
Posted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 4:13 pm
by Konrad Klar
What happens if The Will of Sauron leaves play in middle of the attack from Ahunt?
Posted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 10:52 pm
by Bandobras Took
If it's during the attack created by an Ahunt, there's no problem, because the attack has already resolved and must therefore be faced.
Posted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 11:00 pm
by Konrad Klar
What after, if discarded Ahunt will be defeated?
Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 3:04 am
by Bandobras Took
METD Rules wrote:Only your opponent can receive marshalling points from defeating a manifestation of a Dragon that you played. If you defeat a Dragon manifestation that you played, it is removed from the game and no one receives its marshalling points.
If at any time an attack from a manifestation of a unique Dragon is defeated or if the manifestation is otherwise removed from the game:
• All existing manifestations in play of the same Dragon are removed from the game.
• No further manifestations of the same Dragon may be played.
• The Dragon’s lair no longer has an automatic-attack.
If your opponent defeats the attack, they receive the MPs and the card is removed from the game, I think. If you defeat the attack, you receive the MPs.
Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 4:21 am
by Konrad Klar
To make things slightly more complicated...
Scenario:
Between first and second strike from Bairanax Ahunt, Dark Tryst is played, deck of defender is exhaused - The Will of Sauron leaves play and Bairanax Ahunt (defending player's card) is discarded. Now hazard player plays Desire All For Thy Belly. Bairanax Ahunt is revealed and defender choose removing this card from the game.
What happens if attack will be defeated?
Posted: Sun Sep 02, 2007 9:41 am
by jaded
Then you say "Damn , why did I sell my Doom Trooper cards?"
Posted: Sun Sep 02, 2007 9:48 am
by Konrad Klar
I never played Doom Trooper.
Posted: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:27 pm
by Bandobras Took
I still see no difficulty. If all strikes from the attack created by a dragon ahunt are defeated, then you receive the MPs provided it isn't your own ahunt. Whether the manifestation is still in play at the end of the attack isn't entirely relevant.
Posted: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:50 pm
by Konrad Klar
There are other effects of defeating unique hazard than receiving MPs. If unique hazard is eliminated, no other copy of this hazard nor its manifestation may be played. If it is removed from game it cannot be placed in MP pile or in out-of-play pile. Removing from game is not elimination (Strider replaced by Aragorn II and removed from game is not eliminated Strider).
Posted: Mon Sep 03, 2007 4:09 am
by Bandobras Took
You can't put the manifestation in your MP pile. However, you receive the MPs because you defeated the attack created by the manifestation. As far as I know.
Posted: Mon Sep 03, 2007 1:22 pm
by Konrad Klar
Now I see that problem actually does not exist. Bairanax Ahunt is defeated even if Bairanax Ahunt card is not in game.
Convinced.
Re:
Posted: Fri Nov 22, 2013 8:00 pm
by Konrad Klar
Bandobras Took wrote:I still see no difficulty. If all strikes from the attack created by a dragon ahunt are defeated, then you receive the MPs provided it isn't your own ahunt. Whether the manifestation is still in play at the end of the attack isn't entirely relevant.
Time for resurrection...
By the same logic a Dragon Ahunt may be discarded before strikes will be assigned and this will not cancel attack.
Attack created by Dragon Ahunt (not Dragon Ahunt itself) is faced and the attack is already resolved.
To avoid (not cancel) the attack, a player has time to play Sated Beast, or Marvels Told until attack from Ahunt will resolve.
Do you agree?
Re: dragons hunger, ahunts and marvels told
Posted: Fri Nov 22, 2013 11:02 pm
by Bandobras Took
Hmmm . . . after six years, I'm not sure, but that sounds right to me. Once the attack exists as an entity (i.e. you would be able to cancel the attack), you have to face it.