Prompting of Wisdom and Memories Stolen

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
SuperNovice
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2023 9:54 pm

What is the interaction between these two cards? Specifically, how does this work if Promptings of Wisdom is already in play.?

Promptings of Wisdom text:
"Light Enchantment. Playable during the organization phase on a ranger. Target ranger may tap to cancel all hazard effects for the rest of the turn that: force his company to return to its site of origin or that tap his company's current or new site. If so tapped, target ranger makes a corruption check. Cannot be duplicated in a given party"

Memories Stolen text:
"Dark Enchantment. A non-Wizard character facing a strike from a Dragon hazard creature attack loses all skills while bearing this card. The strike's prowess is modified by -3. Cannot be duplicated on a given character. If at a Haven/Darkhaven during this organization phase, a character with this card may tap to attempt to remove it. Make a roll - if this result is greater than 8, discard this card. Modify the roll by +1 for each character in his company that taps in support."

If Memories Stolen is on the ranger already, Promptings cannot be played on him as he does not currently have the Ranger skill. However, what if Promptings is already on the ranger then Memories Stolen is played on him? Promptings states the the "target ranger" may tap but he is no longer a ranger so doesn't meet those requirements any longer. Promptings wouldn't be removed from the character as the requirements were met to be played but it's not clear to me if he can still use the event.

I couldn't find a prior ruling or clarification on this but I can't imagine it's the first time being asked. Anyone have any insight into how this interaction works?
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

I think that there would not be an interaction if the text of Promptings of Wisdom would be "Target character may tap to cancel" instead "Target ranger may tap to cancel". If Memories Stolen and Promptings of Wisdom are both on the same character the there is a target non-ranger character for both of the cards.
Analogically for When I Know Anything and for When You Know More if target will cease to be a sage.
And for surface site of Deep Mines if it will cease to be a protected Wizardhaven. It will no longer be the surface site of the Deep Mines.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”