Prompting of Wisdom and Memories Stolen
Posted: Sat Aug 10, 2024 8:55 pm
What is the interaction between these two cards? Specifically, how does this work if Promptings of Wisdom is already in play.?
Promptings of Wisdom text:
"Light Enchantment. Playable during the organization phase on a ranger. Target ranger may tap to cancel all hazard effects for the rest of the turn that: force his company to return to its site of origin or that tap his company's current or new site. If so tapped, target ranger makes a corruption check. Cannot be duplicated in a given party"
Memories Stolen text:
"Dark Enchantment. A non-Wizard character facing a strike from a Dragon hazard creature attack loses all skills while bearing this card. The strike's prowess is modified by -3. Cannot be duplicated on a given character. If at a Haven/Darkhaven during this organization phase, a character with this card may tap to attempt to remove it. Make a roll - if this result is greater than 8, discard this card. Modify the roll by +1 for each character in his company that taps in support."
If Memories Stolen is on the ranger already, Promptings cannot be played on him as he does not currently have the Ranger skill. However, what if Promptings is already on the ranger then Memories Stolen is played on him? Promptings states the the "target ranger" may tap but he is no longer a ranger so doesn't meet those requirements any longer. Promptings wouldn't be removed from the character as the requirements were met to be played but it's not clear to me if he can still use the event.
I couldn't find a prior ruling or clarification on this but I can't imagine it's the first time being asked. Anyone have any insight into how this interaction works?
Promptings of Wisdom text:
"Light Enchantment. Playable during the organization phase on a ranger. Target ranger may tap to cancel all hazard effects for the rest of the turn that: force his company to return to its site of origin or that tap his company's current or new site. If so tapped, target ranger makes a corruption check. Cannot be duplicated in a given party"
Memories Stolen text:
"Dark Enchantment. A non-Wizard character facing a strike from a Dragon hazard creature attack loses all skills while bearing this card. The strike's prowess is modified by -3. Cannot be duplicated on a given character. If at a Haven/Darkhaven during this organization phase, a character with this card may tap to attempt to remove it. Make a roll - if this result is greater than 8, discard this card. Modify the roll by +1 for each character in his company that taps in support."
If Memories Stolen is on the ranger already, Promptings cannot be played on him as he does not currently have the Ranger skill. However, what if Promptings is already on the ranger then Memories Stolen is played on him? Promptings states the the "target ranger" may tap but he is no longer a ranger so doesn't meet those requirements any longer. Promptings wouldn't be removed from the character as the requirements were met to be played but it's not clear to me if he can still use the event.
I couldn't find a prior ruling or clarification on this but I can't imagine it's the first time being asked. Anyone have any insight into how this interaction works?