I’m having a hard time trying to understand why certain passive conditions are considered cumulative and why some aren’t. Maybe some of you can help me with this.
Example:
However, there are other cards where this is not so clear, like Crept Along Carefully. Van ruled that the reducing effect isn’t cumulative:Lure of Power
If two instances of Lure of Power are in play and are triggered, only force one check at -4, and both are discarded.
Traitor
Two instances in play of Traitor have no extra effect and are both discarded with the next failed corruption check.
ICE RULES DIGEST #586
30-07-1999 Author: Van Norton Source
QUERY 4
From: Joe Walker
Subject: Crept along carefully
I never saw an answer to this question awile ago, and I’m still curious. What’s the effect of duplicating Crept Along Carefully?
The hazard limit is reduced by one and you have an extra Crept Along Carefully to discard and attempt to cancel an attack.*
But then Chad Martin ruled that they are cumulative, and this is how I’ve seen this played historically (of course he could be wrong)
CoE RULINGS DIGEST #25
15-04-2002 Author: Chad Martin Source
QUERY 3
In Van’s digest #586 he ruled:
“I never saw an answer to this question awhile ago, and I’m still curious. What’s the effect of duplicating Crept Along Carefully?
R: The hazard limit is reduced by one and you have an extra Crept to discard and attempt to cancel an attack.”
Why is the hazard limit reduced by only one? There is no stipulation of that on the card.
If Crept Along Carefully is duplicated, the hazard limit reductions are cumulative, but the three region movement restriction stays at three regions.
The main problem for me, though, is that this “cumulative” thing is nowhere in the rules. I’ve seen only several digests about this, but I fail to see the consistency in them.
ICE#79, #80 and #81 is where Ichabod talks about this issue. in #81 he says this:
ICE RULES DIGEST #81
10-05-1998 Author: Craig Ichabod O'Brien Source
QUERY 2
From: John Coble <_jco...@vnet.net_>
Ok, I follow you in that there is no “cumulative” text in the game; if two cards are not prohibited from being in play simultaneously then their effects are assumed to be cumulative. This still leaves the question of why Lure of Power is not cumulative?
Because that’s the way passive conditions work. If two of the same effect trigger at the same time, only one of them applies, but they are both considered to have triggered for purposes of discarding them.
Traitors not having an effect I can see, mainly due to the resolution text on the card, but I still don’t understand why a “duplicate” Traitor card goes away: why doesn’t it wait for the next failed corruption check?
Because the next corruption check has already happened.
“Because that’s the way passive conditions work”. Yeah, but where in the rules does it say that? In any other card game I know, two instances of Lure of Power would cause two different corruption checks.
I still fail to see where in the rules is this located, and why. Also, if this is the case, I think that cumulative or non-cumulative distinction is kind of funny: having two corruption checks instead of one seems as cumulative to me as getting the hazard limit reduced by two with Crept Along Carefully. Maybe the only wrong thing here is that Crept Along Carefully shouldn’t be cumulative?
Any thoughts on this? Any other examples that I might be missing?
Thanks in advance for your help