Page 1 of 1

Ride Against the Enemy, Press Gang, and FWs

Posted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 5:51 am
by Bandobras Took
Ride Against the Enemy wrote:Playable on a company moving through a Wilderness if you have a character in your hand. Reveal the character. A single-strike hazard creature attack is made on the company with the attributes of the revealed character, except the prowess is increased by 7. Other cards have no effect on this attack. The attack is detainment if the revealed character and the company are both minion or both hero. If defeated, place the character in your opponent's marshalling point pile - he receives the character's marshalling points as kill points. Otherwise, discard the character.
Press Gang wrote:When a character would otherwise be discarded from play, discard all cards on him, place him "off to the side" with this card, and return any character already with this card to its owner's hand. A character with this card gives his player negative character marshalling points. Cannot be duplicated.
NetRep #39 wrote:*** On a related note, I'm overturning a previous ruling I made saying that you may play a character with Ride Against the Enemy when another manifestation of that character is in play. You now may not do so, as Ride Against the Enemy will bring the character into play for the attack.
For FWs:

1) Does this mean I may not use Ride with a character of mind greater than 5, since FWs may not play these?

2) Since the character is played, it would go under Press-Gang instead, right?

3) Such a character would not give negative marshalling points, since all MPs are worth 1 to a FW, correct?
MEWH Rules wrote:MARSHALLING POINTS - Marshalling points for stage resource cards are handled normally (i.e. as printed on the card). However, all other marshalling point cards are only worth 1 marshalling point each to a Fallen-wizard (regardless of their printed value). These MPs can not be modified by a hero or minion resource event (e.g. Rumor of the One, Tribute Garnered, Sentinels of NĂºmenor, etc.). However, Fallen-wizard abilities and stage resource cards can modify the number of marshalling points certain cards give.
Nothing is said about whether a hazard can modify FW MPs. Fool's Bane clearly can, but the text on those cards specifically applies to FWs. Would Press Gang apply?

Posted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 2:54 pm
by Konrad Klar
It is when poor text of some card/rule is corrected by imprecise text of ruling.
In any case text of card/rule does not reflect the author's/corrector's intentions or idea.

Fact that character is just revealed (but not played) implies possibility of use the character that otherwise could not be played, e.g. copy or manifestation of other unique card in play.

Considering the character used with Ride Against the Enemy as "played" leads to situation, where the choice of character subject to certain restrictions.

Why Dragon/Drake and Summons From The Long Sleep, or Rings and Rumours/Whispers of Rings does not causes such problems with its interpretation?
Because Dragon/Drake and Rings are not played, not revealed, but placed off to the side. This means that they are not subject to the restrictions other than restrictions of unique cards.
END OF MY OPINION.

Assuming that character is actually "played" with Ride Against the Enemy:
1) Yes.
2) Yes (unless eliminated).
3) Yes.

Would Press Gang apply?

I thik that yes (why not)?