about open to the summons

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
marcos
Ex Council Member
Posts: 2032
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 5:41 pm
Location: Córdoba, Argentina

open to the summons allows an agent character enter play at a darkhaven, ok. My question is, can an agent be brought into play on a darkhaven in wich the RW is not present with OttS???
Jambo
Posts: 888
Joined: Fri May 19, 2006 3:01 pm

I presume only if there's a character with enough DI available to control him.

But then there are lots of ambiguities over cards that allow characters to be played....
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Playing of characters is very controversial topic. So consider following answer as one of options advocated by me (others may disagree).

Cards/effects that allows for playing characters falls into two categories:

1. Cards that creates immediate action "play character".
In this case character may be played under conditions stated by card's text at time when card may be played i.e. if short-event's text does not state that card is playable only during given phase, character may be played at any phase of resource player turn.
Normal conditions of playing a character (Haven or home site, presence of avatar etc.) are replaced by card's text.

This is similar to cards that allows for playing extra items at site. You can play item with Bounty of The Hoard at tapped site that contains hoard - this item does not need be playable at site, as it is required normally. (Only) because of playability conditions of Bounty of The Hoard item must be played in site phase.

2. Cards that gives possibility of play certain character and/or under certain conditions, but does not create of immediate action "play character".

You can benefit from possibilities given by that cards, but all other conditions (not changed by card's text) must be met.
So it must be organization phase, you are limited to one character per turn, if your avatar is in play and character is played under GI, avatar must be at the same site.

This is comparable to the effects of cards like Secret Book or A Panoply of Wings, Dwarven Hoard. That cards makes Information/Hoards playable at site and its effects may be activated in any phase of yor turn, but you still must wait for site phase, site must be entered and untapped*.

*) Some Information or Items does not require untapped site.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
marcos
Ex Council Member
Posts: 2032
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 5:41 pm
Location: Córdoba, Argentina

so my question falls into option 2. i guess... Avatar must be there when i play a character with OttS...
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

marcos wrote:so my question falls into option 2. i guess... Avatar must be there when i play a character with OttS...
I also think so.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”