Page 1 of 1

Await the Advent Allies

Posted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 9:59 pm
by Muad'Dib
Is it possible to play it on the character staying at the haven?

Posted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 11:50 pm
by marcos
Playable on a non-Wizard character with a mind of six or less.Character must stay at its current non-Havensite until you play a card at the site. Target character does not count against general influence and its marshalling points do not count. Discard this card when you play a resource at the site, the character is discarded, or the character is wounded. Cannot be duplicated on a given character.
bolds are mine...

Posted: Fri Sep 19, 2008 4:09 am
by Bandobras Took
That doesn't mean that you can't play it on a character at a haven. It means that if the character is at a non-haven site, the character may not move.

It's a fine distinction, but the card is not in any way forbidden from being played on a character at a haven.

Posted: Fri Sep 19, 2008 10:41 am
by Muad'Dib
marcos wrote:
Character must stay at its current non-Havensite
That's why Im asking;)is it condition for playing or for moving character?

Posted: Fri Sep 19, 2008 4:18 pm
by Bandobras Took
It is not a condition for playing; it is an effect of the card. If the character is ever not at a haven, they must stay at that site.

Posted: Fri Sep 19, 2008 6:33 pm
by marcos
so, you can play that at a haven and then move, and then the character doesn't count for GI? rite?

Posted: Fri Sep 19, 2008 6:40 pm
by Konrad Klar
Can you say that Lucky Search (Scout only card) can be played in any phase and target scout does not need to be at [-me_sh-] or [-me_dh-]?
And that site phase and presence of scout at [-me_sh-] or [-me_dh-] are only conditions for (deferred) effect of card, but not playability conditions?

Sometimes playability conditions are not printed in bold. New Moon (for first effect) is not playable on anything, but its target is described in part of card describing its main effect - "Tap on Elf character".

Such splitting of specification of target (or other condition) may be indded confusing. But formally it is correct even if not elegant and not clear.

Posted: Fri Sep 19, 2008 6:50 pm
by Bandobras Took
Lucky Search with errata wrote:Scout only. During the site phase, tap a scout at a Shadow-hold [S] or Dark-hold [D]. Turn over cards from your play deck one at a time until you reveal a non-special item or reach the end. If you reveal a non-special item, the scout takes control of it. In any case, the scout must face a single strike attack with a prowess equal to 3 plus the number of cards revealed; this attack/strike cannot be cancelled. Reshuffle all revealed cards except the item back into play deck.
The scout that takes control of the item is the same scout that was tapped at a shadow-hold during the site phase. No problems arise.

Posted: Fri Sep 19, 2008 7:31 pm
by Bandobras Took
Regarding Await the Advent:

The only playability condition is a character with a mind of six or less. You can play this card (unless there is errata of which I am unaware) during the m/h phase when the character is not at any site at all. As soon as said character is at a non-haven site, they may not move.

The New Moon example is also not relevant, as effects which have a target automatically have the existence of the target as a condition.

Posted: Sat Sep 20, 2008 7:58 am
by Muad'Dib
Few examples,where conditions are written in simply way :

- A New Ringlord: Playable on your Fallen-wizard if he has The One Ring at one of your Wizardhavens
- Arcane School: Playable on a non-Hobbit, non-Dwarf sage at one of your Wizardhavens
- Black Horse: Playable on a Ringwraith at a Darkhaven
- Will You Not Come Down?: Playable on a Fallen-wizard at a Wizardhaven
- While the Yellow Face Sleeps: Playable during the organization phase on your Ringwraith at a Darkhaven