Marvels Tols as "Sage Only"

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
Olorin
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 12:01 am
Location: Portland, Oregon

I am wondering if there is a consensus or ruling regarding the use of the Palantir of Annuminas (I think) getting Sage Only cards from one's discard or play deck to one's hand and the card "Marvels Told".

I believe a strict ruling is no, but am tempted to go against this as a house rule for two specific reasons, and the third being that Marvels Told is sweet, and I play said Palantir.

The specific reasons:

Makes sense, it is a card only a sage can use.

The Minion version of another name "Voices of Malice" of EXACTLY the same function includes the text "Sage Only" as if this were to clarify the wording, and as Marvels Told was never re-printed, it was never corrected.
In other words, the Minions can get Marvels Told with a Minion Palantir of Annuminas.

Thanks for the input.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Do whatever house rules you think good. :)
CRF wrote:Sage Only

* Any card requiring a sage to play is a sage only card.
That's an ICE ruling; it's official. You can get Marvels told with Annuminas because it requires a sage to play.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”