Page 1 of 1

Summons From Long Sleep Question

Posted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 11:12 pm
by Olorin
The card does not appear to clearly say the dragon or drake reserved must come from the players hand. I'm sure that is what is meant but, is there an official ruling dictating this?
Summons From Long Sleep (Challenge Deck Wording):
This card reserves up to one Dragon or Drake hazard creature at a time. To reserve a Dragon or Drake creature, place it face up "off to the side" with this card (not counting against the hazard limit). You may play a reserved creature as though it were in your hand. Discard this card after the reserved creature attacks. A reserved Dragon or Drake receives +2 prowess when attacking.
Since it doesn't say "play" the card with Summons, and it doesn't say the card reserved must come from your hand, is it intended to mean that?

If not can you get the card form anywhere, or would there be limits, such as side-board, discard pile, etc?

Secondly, do you have to reserve a creature immediately, or can you just play Summons and then wait to draw an appropriate card?

Thanks,

Olorin

Posted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 4:22 am
by Bandobras Took
I believe that to access any portion of your play deck, discard pile, or sideboard outside of the normal sequence of play, the card must explicitly state that it does such.

To Restate the Obvious is my Lifes Goal

Posted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 4:58 am
by Olorin
I wouldn't be surprised if some ruling somewhere states that.

Therefore getting a card from anywhere but your hand would only be permitted during an action specified for such (side board rules) or a card specifically stating such access. Is this the generalized rule?

How about the second part of my question about playing Summons and then waiting to play the Drake / Dragon? Seems like this would be permitted.

Thanks,
Olorin

Posted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 1:55 pm
by Bandobras Took
The creature can be reserved at any time, so far as I know.