Anduril Flame of the West

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
Olorin
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 12:01 am
Location: Portland, Oregon

I believe Anduril gives the Sage "bearing" it to store is given a point of corruption. Does the card Anduril continue to give a point of corruption, in addition to the additional point it gives to Narsil, making it effectively a 2 corruption mod to Narsil?

Secondly, "Anduril may be tapped to untap a Dunadan character in the same company..." Does this mean tap Narsil now Anduril, or just he Anduril modification to Narsil? Can Anduril be tapped for this effect before it is stored and reforged?

Thanks,
Olorin[/u]
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3154
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Unique. Sage only during the site phase at an untapped site where "information" is playable. Tape the sage and the site. Sage makes a corruption check modified by -3. Keep sage tapped until Anduril is stored at a Haven [H]. Once stored, you may discard a stored Reforging and place Anduril with Narsil. In addition to Narsil's effects, Anduril gives its bearer 4 marshalling points, +4 prowess (to a maximum of 11), +1 direct influence, and one more corruption point. Anduril may be tapped to untap a Dunadan character in the same company, but its bearer must make a corruption check modified by -1.
Clarification: For emphasis, a value used during play is often provided both in a card's text and in another place on the same card. For example, a character's corruption check modifier is stated both in the text and the lower right corner of the character's card.
Anduril when placed with Narsil only increases the CP total by one, just as it only gives an extra DI and only +4 prowess. Since the phrase of tapping occurs after the information about placing Anduril with Narsil, traditional rulings indicate that it may only be tapped after it has been so placed.
Eyelid
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Belfast, United Kingdom

Also, when playing Anduril, you are required to make a corruption test. As you roll the dice, are you at this point already suffering from the one point of corruption provided by Anduril, or does this apply right after the check?

Thanks.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3154
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

The corruption check does not occur until the play of the card has resolved, so, yes, the one corruption point is included in the total corruption when making the check.
Eyelid
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Belfast, United Kingdom

Thanks for the clarification!
User avatar
kober
Posts: 209
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Ottawa, ON

Is Free to Choose ("Playable on an item that normally gives 3 corruption points or more.") playable on Narsil+Anduril?
Vastor Peredhil
Ex Council Member
Posts: 1343
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 10:46 am
Location: Kempen (Niederrhein) Germany

good question, but I doubt it, since it says normally, but he I am no rules wizard
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3154
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

It is not playable. Narsil has a normal CP of 2. Anduril is an event which increases its CP.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4474
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Bandobras Took wrote:It is not playable. Narsil has a normal CP of 2. Anduril is an event which increases its CP.
Bandobras Took wrote:Anduril when placed with Narsil only increases the CP total by one, just as it only gives an extra DI and only +4 prowess. [...]
It does not increase Narsil's CP. Just gives 1 CP for itself ("increases the CP total by one").
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3154
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

You're right; my bad.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
User avatar
kober
Posts: 209
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Ottawa, ON

May Anduril, tFotW be placed with Narsil that had been stored, i.e. when Narsil is in the MP pile?
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4474
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

CRF, Rulings by Term, Stored wrote:Stored cards are not considered to be in play, except for uniqueness.
... that has some consequences.
With exception of exceptions.
So no.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”