Page 1 of 1

Anduril Flame of the West

Posted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 4:53 am
by Olorin
I believe Anduril gives the Sage "bearing" it to store is given a point of corruption. Does the card Anduril continue to give a point of corruption, in addition to the additional point it gives to Narsil, making it effectively a 2 corruption mod to Narsil?

Secondly, "Anduril may be tapped to untap a Dunadan character in the same company..." Does this mean tap Narsil now Anduril, or just he Anduril modification to Narsil? Can Anduril be tapped for this effect before it is stored and reforged?

Thanks,
Olorin[/u]

Posted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 1:58 pm
by Bandobras Took
Unique. Sage only during the site phase at an untapped site where "information" is playable. Tape the sage and the site. Sage makes a corruption check modified by -3. Keep sage tapped until Anduril is stored at a Haven [H]. Once stored, you may discard a stored Reforging and place Anduril with Narsil. In addition to Narsil's effects, Anduril gives its bearer 4 marshalling points, +4 prowess (to a maximum of 11), +1 direct influence, and one more corruption point. Anduril may be tapped to untap a Dunadan character in the same company, but its bearer must make a corruption check modified by -1.
Clarification: For emphasis, a value used during play is often provided both in a card's text and in another place on the same card. For example, a character's corruption check modifier is stated both in the text and the lower right corner of the character's card.
Anduril when placed with Narsil only increases the CP total by one, just as it only gives an extra DI and only +4 prowess. Since the phrase of tapping occurs after the information about placing Anduril with Narsil, traditional rulings indicate that it may only be tapped after it has been so placed.

Posted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 3:34 pm
by Eyelid
Also, when playing Anduril, you are required to make a corruption test. As you roll the dice, are you at this point already suffering from the one point of corruption provided by Anduril, or does this apply right after the check?

Thanks.

Posted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 5:26 pm
by Bandobras Took
The corruption check does not occur until the play of the card has resolved, so, yes, the one corruption point is included in the total corruption when making the check.

Posted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 7:43 pm
by Eyelid
Thanks for the clarification!

Re: Anduril Flame of the West

Posted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 8:10 pm
by kober
Is Free to Choose ("Playable on an item that normally gives 3 corruption points or more.") playable on Narsil+Anduril?

Re: Anduril Flame of the West

Posted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 8:28 pm
by Vastor Peredhil
good question, but I doubt it, since it says normally, but he I am no rules wizard

Re: Anduril Flame of the West

Posted: Fri Nov 21, 2014 2:16 pm
by Bandobras Took
It is not playable. Narsil has a normal CP of 2. Anduril is an event which increases its CP.

Re: Anduril Flame of the West

Posted: Fri Nov 21, 2014 4:31 pm
by Konrad Klar
Bandobras Took wrote:It is not playable. Narsil has a normal CP of 2. Anduril is an event which increases its CP.
Bandobras Took wrote:Anduril when placed with Narsil only increases the CP total by one, just as it only gives an extra DI and only +4 prowess. [...]
It does not increase Narsil's CP. Just gives 1 CP for itself ("increases the CP total by one").

Re: Anduril Flame of the West

Posted: Fri Nov 21, 2014 4:52 pm
by Bandobras Took
You're right; my bad.

Re: Anduril, the Flame of the West

Posted: Wed Sep 04, 2024 12:35 am
by kober
May Anduril, tFotW be placed with Narsil that had been stored, i.e. when Narsil is in the MP pile?

Re: Anduril Flame of the West

Posted: Wed Sep 04, 2024 5:17 am
by Konrad Klar
CRF, Rulings by Term, Stored wrote:Stored cards are not considered to be in play, except for uniqueness.
... that has some consequences.
With exception of exceptions.
So no.