Page 1 of 1
Sacrifice of From annoys me.
Posted: Mon Nov 10, 2008 10:38 pm
by Olorin
Does this card have any Achilies Heel I'm missing? My opponent plays it every game, it gets to the point I can't attack his wizard's party without fear of getting Itengast roasted with SoF. Is there a counter? Is there a drawback? Should everyone put this in their deck?
Thanks,
Olorin
Posted: Mon Nov 10, 2008 11:21 pm
by Bandobras Took
Drawbacks include:
Spell. Wizard only. All of the strikes from one attack against your Wizard's company fail; -3 to any body checks made to determine if the attack is defeated. Discard the Wizard (i.e. he becomes unrevealed) and any non-item cards he controls. Place any items he controls under his card and keep these off to the side (these items are considered to still be in play).
First off, you have to discard
any non-item cards he controls. This includes Followers and, by extension, all cards they control. If your opponent is unaware of this, I strongly suggest you bring him up to speed. Also any allies your wizard controls, etc.
So if your opponent wants to avoid losing a lot of characters along with his wizard, he'll not be able to use any of his Wizard's DI to control those characters, which leaves him vulnerable to such things as Call of Home or Muster Disperses.
Finally, because it is a Spell, if you can get a region in the site path to be a Dark-Domain (Awaken the Earth's Fire is effective if they're wandering around the Grey Mountain Narrows, for example), In the Heart of His Realm will keep him from so much as being able to declare it in a chain of effects.
Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 12:27 am
by Olorin
Followers Discarded That's what I was looking for, that drastically reduces awesomeness. Still not much use if he wants to chase away Itengast at Home to spare the corruption and try for points if his Wizard is alone, but it is handy.
Thanks,
Olorin
Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 2:01 am
by marcos
Many sorrows befall

Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 3:21 am
by Bandobras Took
Many Sorrows Befall wrote:Unique. Forces the discard of one resource long-event.
Alternatively, can target and cancel one resource short-event declared earlier in the same chain of effects (i.e. before the resource short-event resolves).
The next time Sac of Form is a short event, let me know.

Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 11:05 am
by Leon
Remember that SoF is only playable once per game. When I started the game I thought it was really good, but after some games you notice the card takes a lot of time. Finding your wizard, playing SoF, discarding followers etc, finding him again, playing him again is generally not worth the deck space since it is too cumbersome.
Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 11:10 am
by marcos
Bandobras Took wrote:Many Sorrows Befall wrote:Unique. Forces the discard of one resource long-event.
Alternatively, can target and cancel one resource short-event declared earlier in the same chain of effects (i.e. before the resource short-event resolves).
The next time Sac of Form is a short event, let me know.

oops...

Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 12:35 pm
by Jambo
If your play partner is constantly using SoF, I'd suggest changing tack with your creatures. For instance, use creatures like the Cave Worm or Rain Drake. They will force the sacrifice under most circumstances and yet only impart one measely point.
Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 1:24 pm
by Alter Tuk
Leon wrote:Remember that SoF is only playable once per game.
Are you sure? We had that situation at suisse nats. My opponent argued that Sac can not be duplicated (of course; all cards on wizard are discarded) but it could be played again. Reading the cards text thats how I understand it, too.
Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 1:53 pm
by Bandobras Took
May not be duplicated on a given Wizard.
MELE Rules wrote:In all cases, if a card "cannot be duplicated," a second copy of that card cannot be declared - unless the first copy of the card is targeted for removal earlier in the same chain of effects when the second copy is played.
The only way playing a second copy of Sacrifice of Form would be legal is if the first were targeted for removal earlier in the same chain of effects. While some would argue that a new Sacrifice of Form would discard the previous one, it doesn't do it soon enough -- it is impossible for it to target a previous copy for removal earlier than its own declaration.
Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 3:51 pm
by Alter Tuk
Thanks for explanation. And its also logic!!!

Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 7:24 pm
by Konrad Klar
Play SoF with Crown of Flowers, use Twilight, or Doors of Night (sometimes) and you will be able to play SoF again.
Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 7:28 pm
by Alter Tuk
Konrad Klar wrote:Play SoF with Crown of Flowers, use Twilight, or Doors of Night (sometimes) and you will be able to play SoF again.
Hehe, pretty cool!
edit: Note that if you made him the White Wizard all but Saruman will down-grade back to their original colour. hahaha ^^
Re: Sacrifice of From annoys me. (sorry for necro-ing)
Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2013 7:45 am
by rezwits
Sorry for "Necro-ing" but in my world it's perfectly fine
Finally, a post with some good news ahhh...
Getting closer to my GCCG arrival. Still working on a deck... to call home, then others to follow
Laters...