Page 1 of 1
Men of Lamedon and Stone of Erech
Posted: Sat Nov 29, 2008 7:07 pm
by fantomas
Hi again
Another rules-question I can't seem to find:
If it is thus, that Men of Lamedon, as a faction, taps Vale of Erech when played, and a tapped site is discarded when left, that means that Stone of Erech MUST be played together with the faction, or else when the playdeck has been exhausted?
That is by far the longest sentence I've written this weekend.
Thanks

Posted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 2:43 am
by Bandobras Took
Unique. Playable at the Vale of Erech and if the Men of Lamedon are already in play. Discard if the Men of Lamedon leave play.
Yes, that is in essence correct. However, there are some methods for keeping a tapped site in play (such as leaving a character there, No Strangers At This Time), so with a little planning you shouldn't have to discard Vale of Erech.
Posted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 8:40 am
by fantomas
Allright. Thanks for the tips
I will probably post more direct questions concerning rules I don't find and specific situations.
Posted: Mon Dec 01, 2008 5:27 pm
by Olorin
Don't the rules state that playing a card at a site requires tapping the site? We always assumed you had to go BACK to Vale of Erech after exhausting your deck, or in another way untap the site. How does this card avoid this?
Posted: Mon Dec 01, 2008 5:44 pm
by Alter Tuk
Olorin wrote:Don't the rules state that playing a card at a site requires tapping the site?
There is no rule that says that playing a permanent event generally requires to tap the site.
Posted: Mon Dec 01, 2008 8:00 pm
by Bandobras Took
The official rule from the MELE turn sequence:
Certain resource cards other than items, allies, and factions are playable during the site phase and state the conditions under which they may be played. Such a card only requires an untapped site if it states that the site taps when played.
Posted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 9:25 am
by fantomas
Bandobras Took wrote:The official rule from the MELE turn sequence:
Certain resource cards other than items, allies, and factions are playable during the site phase and state the conditions under which they may be played. Such a card only requires an untapped site if it states that the site taps when played.
Aha.. So that means a company
can go back to a tapped site even though it's been discarded as long as the card played there doesn't tap the site?
Posted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 10:22 am
by Vastor Peredhil
No, tapped left sites go to the discard pile:
the key is:
No Stranger at this Time:
MP: 1 miscellaneous
Description: Playable during the site phase on a Free-hold [F] or Border-hold if you have played a faction there. This site is never discarded and never untaps for you. All detainment attacks at all versions of this site against minion companies instead attack normally. Against minion companies, each version of this site has an additional automatic-attack: an exact copy including all modifications of the first automatic-attack listed on its card. Cannot be duplicated on a given site.
mfg Nicolai
Posted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 3:14 pm
by fantomas
Allright then... Thought so

Re: Men of Lamedon and Stone of Erech
Posted: Wed Mar 26, 2014 8:55 pm
by Khamul the Easterling
Can I play Stone of Erech if my opponent has Men of Lamedon in play? I think so.
The card text of SoE reads:
Playable at the Vale of Erech and if the Men of Lamedon are already in play.
Re: Men of Lamedon and Stone of Erech
Posted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 3:35 am
by Konrad Klar
It is even explicitly allowed.
CRF, Rulings by Term, Active Conditions wrote:Your opponent's resources may be the active conditions for your resources, but may
not be the targets for your resources.