Draft of CoE Digest #205 Q5 - A Friend or Three/Tempering Friendship played with an Orc/Troll - Open until June 26th

Locked
User avatar
Manuel
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 543
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 11:31 am

In order to contribute to this thread please follow these rules:

1) The thread will be open until June 26th.
2) There will be a maximum of one reply per forum user, and that reply cannot be edited. We want to actively avoid starting "flame wars", so please speak your peace, let others speak their peace, and that's it.
3) After the review period, the RC will carefully consider everyone's contributions, revise the draft as appropriate, and then the Digest will be published and official.
Is it possible to play cards like A Friend or Three or Tempering Friendship on a check being made by an Orc or Troll?

For reference, here is the text for the cards in question:
A FRIEND OR THREE
For every character in the influencing character's company, A Friend or Three gives a +1 modification to an influence check or to a corruption check made by a character in the same company

TEMPERING FRIENDSHIP
+4 to an influence attempt against a faction.
There are several rules in MEWH regarding the limitations of which hero resources can be played with an Orc or Troll:
A hero resource may not target an Orc or Troll character (e.g. Orc and Troll characters may not use Block, Escape, etc.).

A hero resource that requires a character with a specific skill may not use an Orc or Troll character to fulfill that requirement (e.g. Concealment, Many Turns and Doublings, etc.).

An Orc or Troll character may not tap to initiate an effect from a hero resource (e.g. Praise to Elbereth, Great Ship, etc.).
It’s also important to keep in mind the definition of “target” in the CRF, which dictates that an entity is only the target of an effect if that effect is “played out through” the entity:
A target is an entity that an action is played out through. Enitities are only targets of an action if the action specifies those entities by number and type. Note that «the foo» counts as specifying one «foo.»
Going back to the MEWH restrictions, neither A Friend or Three nor Tempering Friendship:
1) target the character making the influence check or the corruption check,
2) require a character with a specific skill, or
3) require a character to tap to initiate their effects.

Instead, they:
1) target the check itself (not the character),
2) don’t require any specific skill, and
3) don’t require a character to tap.

This means that they can be played when making an influence check or corruption check with an Orc or Troll. And in fact, ICE Digest #38 upholds this line of reasoning (although it gives no further explanation):
ICE RULES DIGEST #38

02-02-1998 Author: Craig Ichabod O'Brien Source

QUERY 11

From: Anders Gabrielsson

Can a FW Orc/Troll company use hero resources to affect dice rolls? Specifically, can they use Tempering Friendship to get +4 to a faction influence roll? I don’t think this is forbidden by the rules regarding their use of hero resources, but I’m not sure.

That could be used.
It is important to note that, because of how they are worded, both A Friend or Three and Tempering Friendship should be considered exceptions compared to most resource cards, which usually do either target the character (e.g. And Forth He Hastened, Dodge, etc.), require the character to tap to initiate the resource’s effect (e.g. Praise to Elbereth, Here, There, Yonder, etc.), or require a character with a specific skill (e.g. Look More Closely Later, Master of Wood, Water or Hill, etc.).
www.meccg.com
User avatar
Theo
Posts: 1419
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Contact:

I would advocate for not making new rulings that only serve to affirm standing rulings; why not simply direct question askers to those rulings?
One [online community] with hammer and chisel might mar more than they make...
All players are welcome at Meduseld! https://theo-donly.github.io/MECCG/
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4478
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Manuel wrote: Tue Jun 04, 2024 9:00 pm It is important to note that, because of how they are worded, both A Friend or Three and Tempering Friendship should be considered exceptions compared to most resource cards, which usually do either target the character (e.g. And Forth He Hastened, Dodge, etc.), require the character to tap to initiate the resource’s effect (e.g. Praise to Elbereth, Here, There, Yonder, etc.), or require a character with a specific skill (e.g. Look More Closely Later, Master of Wood, Water or Hill, etc.).
I think that a difference between A Friend or Three and Tempering Friendship (and some more skill/foo only) cards AND Praise to Elbereth, Here, There or Yonder is that for former there is no enacting character and for latter there is enacting character.
For Tempering Friendship it is sufficient that in company of character performing cc there is any diplomat (non-Orc, non-Troll); and it may be even different diplomat at declaration and at resolution.
For Marvels Told, Concealment, Look More Closely Later, there is a sage or a scout enacting the cards. For Marvels Told and Look More Closely Later the sage is additionally target of one of actions of the cards. Main effect of Concealment does not operate at all on scout.

Target of And Forth He Hastened is just target. No character is enacting the action. Likewise no character is enacting Darkness Under Tree.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Manuel
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 543
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 11:31 am

Thanks everyone for your contributions. The RC will study them carefully and come up with a final digest soon.
www.meccg.com
Locked

Return to “Drafts”