Short answer:
It can be done at anytime that a normal resource can be played.
Explanation:
While the abilities on these two cards are slightly different in function, they have often been discussed at the same time, so we will cover both in this digest. For reference, here is the text of the two cards:
Folco Boffin
Unique. Unless he is one of the starting characters, he may only be brought into play at his home site. All of his corruption checks are modified by +2. You may discard Folco Boffin at a Haven to play any Hobbit from your hand with his company.
Despite the existence of some digests clarifying these two cards, there has been a long-standing debate about the validity of those digests. In particular, some players have argued that the character-playing abilities on one or both of the cards in question are rule-modifying effects rather than new actions, similar to how A Bad Company modifies the rule that Fallen-wizards can’t play Orcs nor Trolls but doesn’t then modify other rules related to how characters may normally be played. In this committee’s opinion, however, that side of the debate does not hold weight when one considers how the cards are actually worded (in Folco’s case, discarding him as an active condition to then allow a Hobbit to be played, regardless of whether the Hobbit is being played at Bag End or other normal restrictions on playing characters during the organization phase; in Strider’s case, the use of “bring .. into play” rather than simply “play”, the fact that multiple rules are being overridden not just for playing characters during the organization phase but also for manifestations, the second half of his ability being written as the continuation of the special action resolving through other additional actions that have nothing to do with playing a character normally, and of course the basic thematic approach of Strider suddenly revealing himself as Aragorn II rather than Aragorn II appearing as a normal character would appear during the organization phase).Strider [based on the CRF wording]
Unique. Manifestation of Aragorn II. You may bring Aragorn II into play with Strider’s company, removing Strider from the game and automatically transferring all cards on Strider to Aragorn II. +3 direct influence against the Rangers of the North faction. Tap Strider to search your discard pile for any one item, ally, or faction playable at his current site. You may bring it to your hand. The site must be in Arthedain, Cardolan, Rhudaur, or The Shire.
With that said, this committee feels that both sides of these debates are ultimately inconclusive given how nebulous ICE’s templating can be, so we referred back to the historical record. ICE’s NetRep clarified in Digest #544 that both Folco’s and Strider’s abilities can be taken at any time that the player could normally play a resource, without counting against the one character that can normally be played during the Organization Phase:
ICE RULES DIGEST #544
Further, the Council of Elrond previously upheld this ruling as it pertains to Folco in COE Digest #16:12-01-1999 NetRep: Van Norton Source
QUERY 10
From: “Jean-Paul Keulen”
Subject: Folco -> Strider/Aragorn II
Quote from the Card of the Day archive:
A recent ruling on Folco’s ability from Ichabod: it can be done at anytime that a normal resource can be played, and does not count against the one character per turn rule.
Is the same true for Strider? Can I play Aragorn II with his company whenever I want, and can I bring in another character during organization phase?
Yes.
Since this committee hasn’t found a solid basis in the rules to overturn these two digests, we shall be upholding the historical record and adding a clarification to the CRF for each of these cards.CoE WEEKLY RULINGS/CLARIFICATIONS #16
NetRep: Brian Wong Source
QUERY 18
Does Folco Boffin’s ability (“You may discard Folco at a Haven to play any Hobbit from your hand with his company.”) override the normal rules about using only direct influence if your Wizard is out, unless the Wizard is at the site, in which case you can use general influence?
Yes. Card text overrides rules in situations of conflict.