Page 1 of 1
Cave-drake and Tournament rules
Posted: Fri Jun 06, 2025 4:39 pm
by TomG
Hi,
For tournaments (e.g, Worlds) is a Cave-drake still considered a dragon creature hazard, or is it a drake?
Thanks,
Tom
Re: Cave-drake and Tournament rules
Posted: Wed Jun 11, 2025 2:31 pm
by sarma72
It's a Dragon as stated on the card text - but don't ask me why it is called Cave Drake!
Re: Cave-drake and Tournament rules
Posted: Sat Jun 14, 2025 2:16 am
by Bandobras Took
"Drake" was only introduced as a creature type in ME:TD. Cave-Drake serves the purpose of having a non-unique creature that is enhanced by dragon-based hazard events. I don't think ICE ever actually changed the name of any card, so once they had chosen it, they were stuck with it.
Similarly, Gollum/My Precious/Stinker probably would have been better named Smeagol/Gollum/My Precious, but by the time they were that far into designing the cards, it was too late to change the names involved.