Can Many Sorrows Befall target Bridge (or similar resources declared at the end of the movement/hazard phase)?In order to contribute to this thread please follow these rules:
1) The thread will be open until Dec 16th.
2) There will be a maximum of one reply per forum user, and that reply cannot be edited. We want to actively avoid starting "flame wars", so please speak your peace, let others speak their peace, and that's it.
3) After the review period, the RC will carefully consider everyone's contributions, revise the draft as appropriate, and then the Digest will be published and official.
Short answer:
Yes
Explanation:
Felipe Silva asked:
For reference, this is the text of Bridge:Hi,
I’d like to have a clarification about the possibilty to respond to AEP resources [AEP: Actions that may be taken at (or are triggered by) the end of a given phase or turn only.] like Bridge or Forced March, all in the same chain of effects. Can my rival respond with Many Sorrows Befall, targgeting Bridge? And what about Blind to the West?
Bridge also has an entry in the CRF:Playable at the end of the movement/hazard phase on a company that moved to a Haven. That company may move to an additional site on the same turn. Another site card may be played and a movement/hazard phase intermediately follows for that company.
First, it is important to remember that every movement/hazard phase is associated with a company, i.e. there isn’t an “umbrella” movement/hazard phase that covers all of them (see ICE 88).Reset to hand size before moving to the second site.
Also, according to Annotation 25:
This means that there isn’t an opportunity for players to take actions after the site of origin has been removed and players have reconciled their hands during the same movement/hazard phase; at that point, you must immediately move on to another company’s movement/hazard phase - if you have any companies left - or onward to your site phase(s). In practical terms, the means that Bridge must be played at the end of the company’s current movement/hazard phase but before players have reconciled their hands for that phase.Removing the site of origin and resetting to hand size are simultaneous actions, and they are the last actions in any movement/hazard phase.
Finally, consider the following CRF entry about “at-beginning-of-phase” (ABP) and “at-end-of-phase” (AEP) actions:
Triggered AEP are declared before AEP that may be taken by players.CoE Issued Rules Clarification 24:
Beginning/End of Phase & Turn
[Acronyms:
ABP: Actions that may be taken at (or are triggered by) the beginning of a given phase or turn only.
AEP: Actions that may be taken at (or are triggered by) the end of a given phase or turn only.]
[…]
End of a phase/Turn
This period begins when all players announce that they will not declare any actions other than AEP starting a chain of effects and when all declared actions other than AEP are resolved.
This period ends when all players announce that they will not declare any actions and when all declared actions are resolved.
The only actions that may be declared in response to AEP are other AEP and actions that target a dice-rolling action and actions that target declared events.
Bridge is an AEP action, which means that the only actions that may be declared in response to it are other AEP, actions that target dice-rolling actions, and - most importantly - actions that target declared events.
Therefore, Many Sorrows Befall and other cards like it that target declared events (e.g. Blind to the West, etc.) can be played in response to Bridge if they target it.