Draft of CoE Digest #209 Q4 - Hoarmurath and auto-attacks - Open until January 12th

Locked
User avatar
Manuel
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 543
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 11:31 am

In order to contribute to this thread please follow these rules:

1) The thread will be open until Jan 12th.
2) There will be a maximum of one reply per forum user, and that reply cannot be edited. We want to actively avoid starting "flame wars", so please speak your peace, let others speak their peace, and that's it.
3) After the review period, the RC will carefully consider everyone's contributions, revise the draft as appropriate, and then the Digest will be published and official.
Can Hoarmurath of Dir and/or Dragon’s Breath target an automatic-attack?

Short answer: Yes

Felipe asked:
Hi,

I’d like to ask for a clarification about Hoarmurath being able to target an automatic attack, and if cards like Dragon’s Breath can be used too on automatic-attacks that are a manifestation of one of the named Dragons (e.g. Smaug at Home)

Thanks!
Yes, both Hoarmurath of Dir and Dragon’s Breath can target an automatic-attack during a company’s movement/hazard phase. This has already been covered in several digests; in fact, Mark Alfano did a very good job in CoE #117 defining which resources and hazards can be played on automatic-attacks. With that said, here are some additional citations to solidify his interpretation.

First, an automatic-attack is considered a type of attack, per the MELE rulebook:
Attack: An action against a company that lists a number of strikes and prowess. Most attacks are either hazard creature attacks or automatic-attacks, though certain cards cause attacks which are neither of these. Most attacks are further described with a creature type though they do not have to be. An attack must be the first declared action in a chain of effects.

Automatic-attack: An attack a company must immediately face when it declares it will enter a site before it takes any actions at the site.
Second, cards that affect attacks also affect automatic-attacks, per ICE 49:
Does Plague of Wights work on undead automatic-attacks?

Yes. Cards which affect attacks also affect automatic-attacks.
Third, an automatic-attack at a company’s new site may be targeted by hazards during the company’s movement/hazard phase, again per the MELE rulebook:
Clarification: An automatic-attack at a company’s new site may be targeted by a hazard during the company’s movement/hazard phase. Such a hazard may be played even if the attack ultimately will not be faced (i.e., if the company decides not to face the automatic-attack during the site phase).”
And finally, Dragon’s Desolation was actually given as an example of this exact situation in the METW rulebook:
Clarification: An automatic-attack at a company’s new site may be targeted by a hazard during the company’s movement/hazard phase (e.g., Arouse Minions, Dragon’s Desolation, etc.). Playing such a hazard does count against the hazard limit. Such a hazard may be played even if the attack ultimately will not be faced (i.e., if the company decides not to face the automatic-attack during the site phase).
This final citation is particularly notable, since the wording of Dragon’s Desolation indicates that it affects “attacks” and not just “automatic-attacks.” Extrapolating the above to other hazard effects that would affect an “attack,” such as Hoarmurath of Dir and Dragon’s Breath, means that they too can target and affect an automatic-attack during the movement/hazard phase, just like Dragon’s Desolation. Further, a card like Dragon’s Breath could be played on-guard and then revealed when the company enters the specified dragon’s lair, since it could have been legally played during the preceding movement/hazard phase.
www.meccg.com
Locked

Return to “Drafts”