Draft of CoE Digest #209 Q7 - Elven-rope and MP of the creature - Open until January 12th

Locked
User avatar
Manuel
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 543
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 11:31 am

In order to contribute to this thread please follow these rules:

1) The thread will be open until Jan 12th.
2) There will be a maximum of one reply per forum user, and that reply cannot be edited. We want to actively avoid starting "flame wars", so please speak your peace, let others speak their peace, and that's it.
3) After the review period, the RC will carefully consider everyone's contributions, revise the draft as appropriate, and then the Digest will be published and official.
When Elven Rope is stored with a creature card attached, does the creature also give MPs to the controller of the Elven Rope?

Short answer:

No

Explanation:

In order to answer this question, one must break down the relevant parts of Elven Rope’s text. First:
Instead of eliminating a creature the bearer’s company defeated (with a normal prowess less than 11), you may place the creature’s card with Elven Rope.
A creature placed with Elven Rope is explicitly not eliminated (hence the use of the word “instead”), so by the rules the resource player doesn’t get kill MPs. Thematically speaking, the creature has been caught with the rope, and storing the rope is equivalent to bringing the creature to jail.
Discard the creature if Elven Rope’s bearer becomes wounded.
Thematically, discarding the creature represents the creature escaping, i.e. it’s still alive and could potentially attack again in the future.
If stored with a creature, the creature stays with Elven Rope and you receive three miscellaneous marshalling points. Otherwise, the creature has no effect on play.
The creature card stays attached to Elven Rope when stored, but again, at no point is the creature actually “eliminated” such that you would receive kill MPs. The only MPs come from the Elven Rope itself.

Finally, it is worth noting that, even after being stored “in jail,” the creature could “break free” with a card like Neither so Ancient nor so Potent, which specifically instructs what to do with the item’s attached cards:
Playable on a stored item. Return item to opponent’s hand (discarding all attached cards). Place this card in opponent’s marshalling point pile. It gives 2 item marshalling points.
www.meccg.com
Locked

Return to “Drafts”