Page 1 of 1

CoE Digest #210 Q4 - Nazgul automatic-attacks

Posted: Sun Jul 13, 2025 10:28 pm
by DamienX207
Are Nazgûl automatic-attacks detainment?

Whether or not a Nazgûl attack counts as detainment can be determined by referencing the Council of Elrond official game rules:
3.II.4 A Nazgûl attack against a minion company is detainment, unless the attack is an automatic-attack (in which case the Nazgûl attacks normally).
However, some players might wonder why this was determined to be the case, given that the Lidless Eye rulebook states the following:
“Detainment Attacks”
Any Nazgûl attack against a minion company is a detainment attack.
The answer can be found in the Lidless Eye Companion (printed by ICE), which provides the following clarification:
Detainment Attacks (clarification)—Automatic-attacks are not detainment attacks unless specifically stated on the site card.
This important clarification is the basis for Rule 3.II.4, and the reason why Nazgûl automatic-attacks are not treated as detainment in Council of Elrond tournament play.